The Telegraph
Friday , July 25 , 2014
CIMA Gallary

KKR to open vs CSK on Sept. 17

Calcutta: IPL champions Kolkata Knight Riders will face Chennai Super Kings in Hyderabad in the main draw opener of the Champions League T20 on September 17. The qualifiers will be played in Raipur from September 13 to 16.

Mohali, Bangalore, Hyderabad and Raipur will host the main draw matches. The final will be held in Bangalore on October 4.

The tournament has retained its last year’s format with 12 teams vying for a total prize money of $6 million, according to a CLT20 media release. Barring the team from West Indies, the winner of the ongoing Caribbean Premier League, the remaining 11 teams have been confirmed. The tournament will see four teams from India, two each from Australia and South Africa and one each from Pakistan, Sri Lanka, West Indies and New Zealand.

Lahore Lions, Northern Districts and South Express, the domestic T20 champions from Pakistan, New Zealand and Sri Lanka respectively, along with IPL’s fourth-placed team Mumbai Indians, will face each other in the qualifying stage. The top two teams from the stage will progress to the main draw, which will be divided into two groups of five each.

Mumbai Indians, if they qualify, will move to Group B. While Knight Riders and Super Kings are placed in Group A, Kings XI Punjab, who will be making their CLT20 debut, are in Group B.

The Knight Riders will play their remaining group matches on September 21, 24 and 29.

Of the 29 games, Shaheed Veer Narayan Singh International Stadium in Raipur, will stage eight matches, including all six qualifying games.