The Telegraph
Wednesday , June 11 , 2014
CIMA Gallary

Manipur Trinamul MLAs axed

June 10: Three Trinamul MLAs in Manipur have been expelled from the party and three others have been show-caused for alleged anti-party activities.

Trinamul’s newly appointed Manipur president, Th. Shyamkumar Singh, announced the decision last night.

Trinamul spokesperson Derek O’Brien said the party had received reports of the MLAs working against the party’s interests.

“Shyamkumar was made the president as he was the only MLA who could give a substantial lead in his Assembly segment (in the Lok Sabha polls). The performance of the rest proved that they were not working with the party’s interests in mind. We heard their views before the decision (to expel or showcause them) was taken,” O’Brien said.

Trinamul has seven MLAs in Manipur. The Congress, which runs the government, won both seats in the state in the general election.

The expelled MLAs are Kh. Joykishan, Th. Biswajit and O Lukhoi. Kouthoujam Sarat, Maibam Kunjo and Irengam Ibohabi Singh have been showcaused. Trinamul sources said the MLAs had connived with candidates of other parties in the Lok Sabha polls.

The six MLAs questioned the appointment of Shyamkumar as state unit chief and claimed that Joykishan was the “real” president. At a news conference today, Joykishan announced the “expulsion” of Shyamkumar for six years.