The Telegraph
Monday , June 9 , 2014
CIMA Gallary

South Point lift trophy

Guwahati, June 8: South Point School annexed the title of the 10th Dhan Sena Sinha All Assam Inter-school Prize Money Cricket Tournament defeating Kendriya Vidyalaya Maligaon by a margin of 108 runs in the final at the Latasil playground here yesterday

Put into bat, South Point put up 204 runs for the loss of eight wickets in the stipulated 30 overs.

Saahil Jain rose to the occasion with a splendid knock of 110 runs off 88 balls, studded with 13 hits to the fence and two over the ropes, while Abhijit Roy chipped in with 18 runs off 27 deliveries, which included two boundaries. Abinash Terang contributed 16 runs off 21 balls.

Amit Kumar Yadav picked up two wickets for 43 runs in his allotted six overs while Sudip Talukdar, Dhiraj Choudhury and Subham Dey took one wicket each.

In reply, Kendriya Vidyalaya Maligaon failed to make an impact as they were bundled out for 96 in 20.1 overs. Subham Dey remained unbeaten on 31 off 26 balls, which included a boundary and two sixes, while Sudip Talukdar chipped in with 20 runs off 23 deliveries. Dhiraj Choudhury contributed 12 runs off 27 balls.

Dhruvraaj Borah was the wrecker-in-chief with five wickets for 38 runs while Joydeep Singh and Saahil Jain bagged two wickets each.

Saahil Jain, who was adjudged the Man of the Match for his fine all-round display, walked away with the Man of the Series award too.

Debasish Saikia of Shrimanta Shankar Academy was adjudged the Best Batsman of the Tournament while Dhruvraaj Bora bagged the Best Bowler award.

Subham Dutta of South Point School was awarded the Best Fielder trophy while Amit Kr Yadav was adjudged the Best Wicket-keeper.

Aman Chhetri of Kendriya Vidyalaya IIT walked away with the Best All-rounder trophy while Don Bosco School, Sonaighuli received the most disciplined team honour.