The Telegraph
Tuesday , May 27 , 2014
CIMA Gallary

Rongmei Club win top title

Hailakandi, May 26: Rongmei Club A won the Chinmoy Dey Trophy Football Tournament, organised by Morning Club of Silchar, beating India Club B 3-1 in the final under floodlights at Satindra Mohan Dev Stadium in Silchar yesterday.

Trailing by a goal in the first half, a hattrick from Gaiham Rongmei helped Rongmei Club clinch the title. Malingir Halam put India Club ahead with a goal in the 14th minute.

The second half, however, was an altogether different ball game as the opponents stole the show with Gaiham scoring the equaliser as early as in the 46th minute. He netted the remaining two goals in the 49th and 55th minutes.

In the semi-finals, India Club B defeated Tarapur Athletic Club 4-2 while Rongmei Club A got the better of Arunachal Sanskritik Sanstha A 3-1 earlier. Babu Rongmei of Tarapur AC was adjudged the best goalkeeper while Sanil Singha of India Club and M.S. Thanga of Arunachal SS got the best midfielder and forward awards.

United Club received the most disciplined team award.