The Telegraph
Tuesday , May 27 , 2014
CIMA Gallary

Biswanath CCC clinch second win

Guwahati, May 26: Biswanath Cricket Coaching Centre and Nowgong Cricket Coaching Centre registered convincing wins in their respective matches of the Dilip Sarmah Under-14 Inter-District Cricket Coaching Centre Championship here today.

Both the matches had to be curtailed to a 15 overs-a-side affair owing to heavy overnight rain.

Biswanath Cricket Coaching Centre eased past Dibrugarh Cricket Coaching Centre by 50 runs at Nehru Stadium.

The Dibrugarh side was curtailed to a 10-men side as one of their players was declared overaged.

Put in to bat, Biswanath Cricket Coaching Centre put up a total of 100 runs for the loss of four wickets. Dipankar Borah remained unbeaten with 25 runs off 43 deliveries while Jitupritam Borah chipped in with 25 runs off 17 balls. Sankar Siddharth picked up two wickets going for 16 runs in his two overs while Nitin Hazarika bagged one wicket going for five runs in three overs.

In reply, Dibrugarh boys could only manage 50 runs before being all out in 14.3 overs. The side received a total of 26 runs in extras while none their batsmen managed to reach the double-figure mark.

Navjeet Tanti was the pick of the bowlers with three wickets to his kitty for two runs in his three overs while Nibir Phukan bagged two wickets going for 11 runs in two overs.

In the other match played at the Northeast Frontier Railway Sports Association Stadium, Nowgong Cricket Coaching Centre clinched a seven-wicket victory over Kokrajhar Cricket Coaching Centre.

Put in to bat, the Kokrajhar boys managed 46 runs before being all out in 14.2 overs. None of the batsmen managed to reach the double figure mark while the side received 21 runs in extras.

Subham Paul picked up two wickets conceding eight runs in his three overs while Ankur Bhuyan, Nibir Kumar Kalita, Debabrata Das, Bedabratta Das and Gopal Krishna Ghosh took one wicket each.

Chasing a meagre total, Nowgong batsmen didnít face much of a challenge as the side went on to get past the target losing three wickets in 11 overs.

Bedabratta remained unbeaten with 16 runs off 31 balls while Debasish Das remained not out with eight runs off 14 deliveries. Samrat Biswas bagged the lone wicket to fall conceding four runs in two overs while Nibir Kumar Kalita retired hurt.