The Telegraph
Friday , May 16 , 2014
CIMA Gallary

Sunset tally: Modi all set to be PM as BJP heads for majority on its own

New Delhi, May 16 (PTI): Narendra Modi was all set to be the next Prime Minister with the Bharatiya Janata Party having won 117 seats and leading in 165, going by results and trends as at 6pm Friday, which put it way past the magic figure of 273 sears on its own.

The Congress reported its worst-ever performance, having won 18 seats and leading in 27, making for a total of 45 seats, in the 543-member House.

This will be the first time after 30 years that a single party is securing a majority on its own after the massive number of 419 seats Rajiv Gandhi got in 1984 in the aftermath of Indira Gandhi's assassination.

Set to take over the Prime Minister next week, Modi tweeted “India has won, good days are coming”. It was retweeted over 51,000 times, setting a record for India.

The BJP under Atal Bihari Vajpayee had scored an individual tally of 182 seats, both in 1998 and 1999.

Modi, the BJP's Prime Ministerial candidate, won the Vadodara seat in Gujarat with 845464 votes, leaving his Congress rival trailing with 275336 votes. At Varanasi in Uttar Pradesh, Modi was leading with 516593 votes, leaving rival Arvind Kejriwal of the Aam Aadmi party trailing with 179739.

In Amethi, Rahul Gandhi was leading with 318094 votes and Congress President Sonia Gandhi was declared the winner at Rae Bareli with 526434 votes.

The Modi wave threw aside a number of Congress big guns, including ministers Sushilkumar Shinde, Sachin Pilot, Veerappa Moily, Salman Khurshid, Kapil Sibal, Ajay Maken, M M Pallam Raju and Sriprakash Jaiswal besides Speaker Meira Kumar. P Chidambaram's son Karti was trailing in Sivaganga.

The BJP, riding on a Modi wave, was virtually sweeping Uttar Pradesh where it was leading in 71 seats out of 80 seats for which trends were available at 6pm.