The Telegraph
Thursday , May 15 , 2014
CIMA Gallary

A call-up for Demichelis

- Coach Sabella leaves in-form Striker Tevez out of squad
Luis Suarez with wife Sofia Balbi and daughter Delfina, at a promotional, in Barcelona, on Wednesday. (Getty Images)

Buenos Aires: Central defender Martin Demichelis, a Premier League winner with Manchester City in his first season in England, earned a surprise call-up on Tuesday to Argentina’s provisional 30-man World Cup squad.

However, there was no last-minute surprise place for Juventus striker Carlos Tevez, who has never been in coach Alejandro Sabella’s plans despite his fine form in Serie A.

Demichelis, a veteran of the 2010 finals, had not been called up by Sabella since being dropped after a 1-1 draw at home to Bolivia in a South American qualifier in November 2011.

Another surprise call-up is Catania midfielder Fabian Rinaudo, who won one of his four caps under Sabella in 2011, and is regarded as cover in case regular midfielders Fernando Gago or Augusto Fernandez fail to recover from injury in time to be included in the definitive squad on June 2.

Right back Gabriel Mercado has earned a chance thanks to his performances for River Plate, who can lift the Argentine league title this weekend.

Sabella named Gago of Boca Juniors, Fernandez of Celta Vigo and Real Madrid's Angel Di Maria who all hope to be fit in time for the tournament in Brazil starting on June 12 in which Argentina face Iran, Bosnia and Nigeria in Group F.

Di Maria is fighting to be fit for Real's Champions League final against Atletico Madrid on May 24.

Werder Bremen's Franco Di Santo has been given a chance to stake a claim for a spot in Sabella's star-studded strike force featuring Lionel Messi, Sergio Aguero and Gonzalo Higuain.

Meanwhile, Borussia Monchengladbach midfielder Christoph Kramer slipped into a revised 27-player squad of Germany for a training camp in Italy next week.

Coach Joachim Loew dropped Hamburg SV defender Marcell Jansen as well as Schalke 04 teenagers Leon Goretzka and Max Meyer, who were called in the provisional 30-member squad, and replaced Augsburg’s Andre Hahn with the tall 23-year-old versatile Kramer.

Monaco striker Radamel Falcao was named on Tuesday in Colombia’s provisional World Cup squad even though he is still recovering from knee surgery.

The provisional Squads


Goalkeepers: Sergio Romero, Mariano Andujar, Agustin Orion; Defenders: Pablo Zabaleta, Federico Fernandez, Ezequiel Garay, Marcos Rojo, Hugo Campagnaro, Martin Demichelis, Jose Basanta, Nicolas Otamendi, Lisandro Lopez, Gabriel Mercado; Midfielders: Javier Mascherano, Fernando Gago, Lucas Biglia, Ever Banega, Ricardo Alvarez, Augusto Fernandez, Jose Sosa, Angel Di Maria, Maxi Rodriguez, Fabian Rinaudo, Enzo Perez; Forwards: Lionel Messi, Gonzalo Higuain, Sergio Aguero, Rodrigo Palacio, Ezequiel Lavezzi, Franco Di Santo


Goalkeepers: Mathew Ryan, Mitchell Langerak, Eugene Galekovic, Mark Birighitti; Defenders: Curtis Good, Jason Davidson, Matthew Spiranovic, Luke Wilkshire, Ivan Franjic, Bailey Wright, Ryan McGowan, Alex Wilkinson; Midfielders: Joshua Brillante, Oliver Bozanic, Mark Bresciano, James Holland, Mile Jedinak, Mark Milligan, Dario Vidosic, Adam Sarota, Matt McKay, James Troisi, Massimo Luongo; Forwards: Tim Cahill, Josh Kennedy, Matthew Leckie, Tommy Oar, Tomas Rogic, Ben Halloran, Adam Taggart


Goalkeepers: David Ospina, Faryd Mondragon, Camilo Vargas; Defenders: Mario Yepes, Cristian Zapata, Pablo Armero, Camilo Zuniga, Aquivaldo Mosquera, Santiago Arias, Luis Amaranto Perea, Eder Alvarez Balanta, Carlos Valdes; Midfielders: Fredy Guarin, Juan Cuadrado, Victor Ibarbo, James Rodriguez, Abel Aguilar, Juan Fernando Quintero, Carlos Sanchez, Macnelly Torres, Aldo Leao Ramirez, Edwin Valencia, Alexander Mejia, Elkin Soto; Forwards: Radamel Falcao, Luis Fernando Muriel, Jackson Martinez, Carlos Bacca, Adrian Ramos, Teofilo Gutierrez


Goalkeepers: Orestis Karnezis, Panaglotis Glykos, Stefanos Kapino, Alexandros Tzorvas; Defenders: Avraam Papadopoulos, Kostas Manolas, Giannis Maniatis, Jose Holebas, Sokratis Papastathopoulos, Giorgios Tzavellas, Loukas Vyntra, Vasilis Torosidis, Nikos Karabelas, Vangelis Moras; Midfielders: Alexandros Tziolis, Andreas Samaris, Kostas Katsouranis, Giorgos Karagounis, Panagiotis Tachtsidis, Ioannis Fetfatzidis, Kostas Fortounis, Lazaros Christodoulopoulos, Panagiotis Kone, Nikos Karelis; Forwards: Dimitris Salpingidis, Giorgios Samaras, Konstantinos Mitroglou, Theofanis Gekas, Stefanos Athanasiadis, Dimitris Papadopoulos