The Telegraph
Tuesday , May 13 , 2014
CIMA Gallary

Cameroon coach plays it safe

Cape Town: Cameroon coach Volker Finke has opted for a tried and trusted line-up in his 28-man provisional squad for next month’s World Cup in Brazil.

The German has picked all but one of the group of players who earned the Indomitable Lions’ place at Brazil with the play-off win over Tunisia.

Striker Jacques Zoua, who plays for Hamburg, is the unfortunate man to miss out because of injury.

Much will be expected of forward Vincent Aboubakar after his 16 goals for Lorient this season.

That places him joint-second highest scorer in the French Ligue 1 behind only Zlatan Ibrahimovic. He is set to partner senior pro Samuel Eto’, who remains Cameroon's all-time leading scorer with 55 goals.

Meanwhile, midfielder David Accam and defender Jeffrey Schluup were two surprise inclusions when Ghana named a provisional 26-man squad.

Accam, who plays for Swedish club Helsingborg, has never featured for his country. German-born Schluup, who plays for English second-tier champions Leicester City, won one cap in 2011.

Ghana, who have been drawn in Group G along with Germany, Portugal and United States, plan to cut their squad to 23 after the May 31 friendly against Netherlands in Rotterdam.



Goalkeepers: Guy-Rolland Assembe, Loic Feudjou, Charles Itandje, Sammy Ndjock; Defenders: Benoit Assou-Ekotto, Henri Bedimo, Gaeten Bong, Aurelien Chedjou, Cedric Djeugoue, Jean-Armel Kana Biyik, Nicolas Nkoulou, Dany Nounkeu, Allan Nyom; Midfielders: Enoh Eyong, Raoul Cedric Loe, Jean Makoun, Joel Matip, Stephane Mbia, Benjamin Moukandjo, Landry Nguemo, Edgar Salli, Alexandre Song; Forwards: Vincent Aboubakar, Eric-Maxim Choupo Moting, Samuel Eto’, Mohamadou Idrissou, Fabrice Olinga (Malaga), Achille Webo


Goalkeepers: Stephen Adams, Fatau Dauda, Adam Kwarasey; Defenders: Harrison Afful, Jerry Akaminko, John Boye, Samuel Inkoom, Jonathan Mensah, Daniel Opare, Jeffrey Schluup, Rashid Sumaila; Midfielders: David Accam, Afriyie Acquah, Albert Adomah, Emmanuel Agyemang Badu, Kwadwo Asamoah, Christian Atsu, Andre Ayew, Michael Essien, Rabiu Mohammed, Sulley Muntari, Mubarak Wakaso; Forwards: Jordan Ayew, Kevin Prince Boateng, Asamoah Gyan, Abdul Majeed Waris