The Telegraph
Thursday , May 8 , 2014
CIMA Gallary

Punshiba moves up

Imphal, May 7: Punshiba Yengkhom moved into the second round of the third K. Yaima Memorial MBA Promo Championship, 2014 played at Indoor Hall of DM College campus.

In the boyís singles under-13 event, Punshiba wasted no time to tame K. Sandip Singh 21-7, 21-10 while in another match, Tk. Bikash beat W. Henthoiba Singh 21-10, 21-6.

The other matches saw Ch. Ritesh, Rk. Satarjit, Kh. Kalenyai, Rk. Martin, Chuingachan Simre, Y. Nicolas, S. Jeotichandra, Kh. Bidyachandra, Andrew Lotzem, Rk. Upananda, Emaneul Nimso Khansu, P. Rahul and K. Arvind Sharma also register wins.

In the menís singles event, N. Saranjit overcame L. Roben 22-20, 21-16 while H. John Singh got a walkover as Ch. Rajesh failed to report for the match. Ch. Iboyaima, M. Arunkumar, K. Thomas, S. Jacky, Th. Herojit, K. Mothil, Akhai Mashangua, H. Sunder, M. Ibotomba, R. Thangneisel Savio, Sagumlung Pame and Sh. Charanjit Sharma won their matches to move into the next round.

In the menís doubles event, L. Joyshankar along with his partner S. Premananda, got the better of S. Samananda and Th. Binoy 21-11, 21-10 while O. Premananda and Th. Phulchandra beat Ch. Sadananda and Rajesh Hijam 21-3, 21-10. K.G. Kom, along with Moring Anal, defeated Md. Imran Hussain and N. Purnachandra 21-10, 21-9 to move into the second round.

Altogether 507 participants took part in the championship.

Appointed: The All-India Football Federation has appointed Chim Chim Serto as match official for the semi-final and final match of the 20th Senior Womenís National Football Championship 2014 to be played in Assam.

Womenís football: Kerala edged past Sikkim by a solitary goal in Group C of the 20th Senior National Womenís Football Championship match at Jalan Outdoor Stadium

here today.