The Telegraph
Saturday , April 26 , 2014
CIMA Gallary

Goalpara edge past Tezpur

u-13 cricket

Guwahati, April 25: Goalpara today edged past Tezpur by a wicket to ensure a semi-final berth in the ongoing second Umananda Bora inter-district (under-13) cricket tournament at Barsapara Cricket Stadium here.

Batting first, Tezpur were bundled out for 96 in 32.3 overs and the Goalpara batsmen achieved the 97-run target losing nine wickets in 36.1 overs.

Rohan Sarma (15, 1x4) was the only Tezpur batsman to score in double figures while Arif Ali (9, 1x4) was the only other batsman from the side to hit a boundary.

Abhijit Baidya, Gaurav Das and Manjeet Deka of Goalpara shared three wickets each conceding 12, 18 and 19 runs respectively. Inamul Haque picked up the remaining wicket for 19 runs.

Manjeet Deka also topscored for Goalpara with a patient knock of 14 runs facing 62 balls, off which he went for only one boundary.

Gaurav Das (13, 3x4), Gaurav Thakuria (12) and Abhishek Dey (11, 1x4) were the other notable scorers while Abhijit Baidya remained not out on five.

Gunjan Pratim Mahanta of Tezpur bagged three wickets for 19 runs while teammates Udalkar S. Sarma and Arif Ali bagged two wickets each for nine and six runs respectively.

AITA tennis: The AITA Championship Series Tennis Tournament for under-14 boys’ and girls’ will be under way tomorrow at the All Assam Tennis Association Complex here. The matches will start from 7 in the morning. Altogether 49 players have signed in for the boys’ event while in the girls’ event, 19 players are taking part.

Demise: Former Guwahati Sports Association assistant secretary and a veteran sports organiser of the city, Ramesh Dawka, passed away following prolonged illness in a city hospital on Friday. He was 74. The GSA and other sports organisations here have condoled his demise.

Women’s football

The senior Women’s National Football Championship will get under way at Dibrugarh, Golaghat and Bokakhat from Sunday. Altogether 20 states are participating in the tournament to be organised by the Assam Football Association in association with the district sports associations in Dibrugarh and Golaghat.