The Telegraph
Friday , April 25 , 2014
CIMA Gallary

Chetri and Westwood on shortlist

Calcutta: Bengaluru FC captain Sunil Chetri and coach Ashley Westwood have been nominated in the best Indian player and coach of the year categories, respectively, for the FPAI (Football Players Association of India) awards.

The awards function will be held in the city on April 29.

Along with Chetri and Westwood, Lenny Rodrigues (Indian player of the year), Siam Hangal (Young player of the year) and John Johnson (foreign player of the year) are the other players from the I-League champions who feature among the list of nominees.

East Bengal’s Armando Colaco, Thangboi Singto of Lajong FC and Salgaocar’s Derrick Pereira are among those vying for the coach of the year award.

The nominees

Coach of the Year: Thangboi Singto (Lajong FC), Derrick Pereira (Salgaocar), Ashley Westwood (Bengaluru FC), Armando Colaco (East Bengal), Oscar Bruzon (Sporting Club de Goa)

Indian Player of the Year: Sunil Chetri (Bengaluru FC), Lenny Rodrigues (Bengaluru FC), Gabriel Fernandes (Pune FC), Cavin Lobo (East Bengal), Balwant Singh (Churchill Brothers SC)

Young Player of the Year: Narayan Das (Dempo SC), Siam Hangal (Bengaluru FC), Alesh Sawant (Churchill Brothers), Alwyn George (Dempo SC), Lalrindika Ralte (East Bengal)

Foreign Player of the Year: Cornell Glenn (Shillong Lajong FC), Darryl Duffy (Salgaocar), Yusif Yakubu (Mumbai FC), Douhou Pierre (Pune FC), John Johnson (Bengaluru FC)