The Telegraph
Saturday , April 19 , 2014
CIMA Gallary

Navarang triumph

t20 cricket

Guwahati, April 18: Navarang Club and Ankurjyoti Club won their respective matches of the first Golap Hazarika and Arati Hazarika T-20 Cricket Tournament organised by the City Cricket Coaching Centre at Judges Field here today.

In the first match of the day, Navarang Club inflicted a three-wicket defeat on Gauhati Town Club. GTC batsmen managed 137 runs for the loss of seven wickets in their stipulated 20 overs. Konkon Das topscored for his side with 43 runs off 38 deliveries, which included five hits to the fence and one over the ropes, while Simanta Neogi chipped in with 31 runs off 15 balls including a four and three sixes. Amit Boro picked up two wickets going for 15 runs in his allotted four overs while Ranjit Mali bagged one wicket conceding 26 runs in his quota of overs.

Chasing the total, Navarang Club got past the target losing seven wickets in 19.3 overs. Jnan Boro scored 31 runs off 19 balls, which included six boundaries, while Ranjit Mali contributed 30 runs off 14 deliveries with three hits to the fence and two over the ropes. Deep Bora and Konkon Das took two wickets each. Ranjit Mali walked away with the Man of the Match award for his fine all-round performance.

Ankurjyoti Club got the better of City Cricket Club Red by 11 runs in the second match of the day. Ankurjyoti boys posted a modest total of 135 runs for the loss of seven wickets in their regular overs. Rio Pramanik scored 28 while Nirendra Deka Raja chipped in with 27 runs off 19 deliveries. Akash Maurya and Raj Agarwal bagged one wicket each.

In reply, City Cricket batsmen were all out for 114 runs in 18.1 overs. Imdadul Saikia topscored with 44 runs off 43 balls while Deepjyoti Nath contributed 13 runs off 12 deliveries. Abdul Islam picked up three wickets going for 29 runs in his quota of overs while Hiranya Das took two for 22 runs in his allotted overs. Abdul Islam was adjudged the Man of the Match.

Earlier in the last match yesterday, Ankurjyoti Club beat Sarathi Gosthi by 22 runs.