The Telegraph
Thursday , April 10 , 2014
CIMA Gallary

Monks vote


Itanagar, April 9 (PTI): More than 500 monks of Tawang monastery and those in nearby West Kameng district in Arunachal Pradesh today cast their votes for two Lok Sabha and 49 of the 60 Assembly seats. “The monks invariably take part in the electoral exercise as citizens of India,” Tawang district electoral officer Abhisek Deb and his West Kameng counterpart A.K. Singh said.


Kokrajhar: The Systematic Voters’ Education and Electoral Participation Cell under Chirang district has organised various programmes in the district.


Dhubri: Altogether 15 candidates remained in the fray in Dhubri Lok Sabha seat on Tuesday. The nomination cell allotted the symbols to the Independent candidates, an official source said.


Dhubri: Altogether 117 polling stations of Dhubri constituency are in the BTAD, 58 are under Dhubri subdivision and 59 polling stations are under Bilasipara subdivision of Dhubri district, an official source said.


Aizawl (PTI): Campaigning for the lone Lok Sabha constituency in Mizoram, where polling will be held on April 11, ended at 5pm on Tuesday.


Guwahati: The Kamrup (metro) district administration will organise a two-day training programme of presiding officers and polling personnel on Friday and Saturday here. Nearly 5,400 personnel will be provided training.