The Telegraph
Thursday , April 10 , 2014
CIMA Gallary

Repolling in 6 Jorhat centres

Jorhat, April 9: The Election Commission today ordered repolling tomorrow at six polling centres in three Lok Sabha constituencies out of the five where elections were held on Monday.

The decision on the repoll was taken following EVM (electronic voting machine) malfunctioning at six polling stations midway on the voting day. Even after replacements, the machines were found to be defective, with doubts cropping up over accurately retrieving the results.

The three Lok Sabha seats are Jorhat, Dibrugarh and Tezpur. Assamís additional chief electoral officer Ramesh Chand Jain told The Telegraph that on the basis of recommendations sent yesterday by the returning officers (ROs) of the three constituencies, the commission issued a directive today ordering repoll.

Jain said in Jorhat constituency, repolling will be held in four polling booths and one each in Dibrugarh and Tezpur seats respectively.

The four booths under Jorhat Lok Sabha seat are 38 Sensua LP (lower primary) School under Jorhat Assembly seat, 5 Pukhuria LP School under Mariani Assembly seat, 84 Baharbari LP School under Sonari Assembly seat and 61 Khoragar LP School under Amguri Assembly seat.

In Dibrugarh Lok Sabha constituency, repolling will be held at 22 Laina LP School under Tinsukia Assembly seat while for the Tezpur Lok Sabha seat, repolling will be held at Borgang High School of 77 Behali Assembly seat under Biswanath Chariali subdivision of Sonitpur district.

The three returning officers ó Solanki Vishal Vasant (Jorhat), Aruna Rajoria (Dibrugarh) and Lalit Gogoi (Tezpur) ó had sent the recommendations to the commission through Assamís chief electoral officer Vijayendra after holding scrutiny meetings with senior officials yesterday. Engineers of Electronics Corporation India Ltd, one of the two companies that manufacture EVMs, were present at the meeting.

Jain said the ROs found that results could not be accurately accessed from the six EVMs and hence to ensure free, fair and transparency of the electoral process, repolling was proposed by them to the commission.

According to the commissionís guidelines, the scrutiny meeting, presided over by the returning officer, is held a day after polling to scrutinise all documents and records of those polling stations where voting percentage is 15 per cent more or 15 per cent less than the average voter turnout. The additional chief electoral officer (Assam) said repolling would be held by using EVMs kept as standby, from 7am to 5pm.

 More stories in Northeast

  • Modi wave blows across gardens
  • SAI, Noonmati win
  • Tea party in Outer booths
  • 6 candidates in poll fray from Kokrajhar
  • Rahul Pamei books final berth
  • SC rejects KMSS leader's bail plea
  • Elders journey to past polls
  • Garo hills voters brave squall, turnout high
  • Not RaGa or NaMo, Arunachal votes for progress
  • Attempt to set up booths foiled
  • NE issues in manifesto
  • NF Rly crush Karbi Anglong
  • Sport facility launched
  • Women outnumber men in Tezpur
  • Monks vote
  • Rahul slams Gujarat model
  • AJYCP protest
  • Repolling in 6 Jorhat centres
  • Karbi bandh ahead of April 12 polls
  • Steps to protect agarwood
  • Police seize Ajmal vehicles
  • Accord focus in Trinamul manifesto
  • Mushroom poisoning death toll 8
  • 30000 in poll boycott cry