The Telegraph
Tuesday , April 8 , 2014
CIMA Gallary

India slip to 2nd, SL No. 1

Calcutta: India lost their No. 1 status to Sri Lanka after being defeated in the World Twenty20 final but star batsman Virat Kohli and spinner Ravichandran Ashwin on Monday attained career-best positions of second and third respectively in the latest ICC rankings issued.

“India pair of Virat Kohli and Ravichandran Ashwin has attained career-best rankings, at the end of the ICC World Twenty20 Bangladesh 2014, in the latest Reliance ICC Player Rankings for T20I batsmen and ICC Player Ranking for T20I bowlers respectively,” the ICC said in a statement.

“Before the semi-finals began, India had gone past Sri Lanka to become the No. 1 ranked side. The final therefore was also a contest for either side to reclaim or retain the top spot.”

Kohli, named Man of the Tournament, ended as the highest run-getter of the tournament with 319 runs at an average of 106.33 and a strike-rate of 129.14.

He scored an unbeaten 72 in the semi-final against South Africa and followed it up with a knock of 77 in the final against Sri Lanka.

These efforts helped Kohli gain 68 ratings points to move up to a best-ever 889 ratings points, just three behind No. 1 ranked Australian batsman Aaron Finch.

Meanwhile, India off-spinner Ashwin now shares the third position on the bowlers’ table with Pakistan’s Saeed Ajmal.

Ashwin finished with 11 wickets in the tournament at an average of 11.27 and an economy rate of 5.35 runs per over. Ashwin ended as the fourth highest wicket-taker in the tournament.


Teams: 1. Sri Lanka; 2. India; 3. Pakistan; 4. South Africa; 5. West Indies; 6. Australia; 7. New Zealand; 8. England; 9. Ireland; 10. Bangladesh

Batsmen: 1. A. Finch (Aus); 2. V. Kohli (Ind); 3. A. Hales (Eng); 4. B. McCullum (NZ); 5. K. Perera (SL); 6. F. du Plessis (SA); 7. JP Duminy (SA); 8. A. Shehzad (Pak); 9.D. Warner (Aus); 10. S. Raina (Ind)

Bowlers: 1. S. Badree (WI); 2. S. Narine (WI); 3. S. Ajmal (Pak), R. Ashwin (Ind); 5. S. Senanayake (SL); 6.M. Starc (Aus); 7. N. McCullum (NZ); 8. N. Kulasekara (SL); 9. M. Hafeez (Pak), S. Afridi (Pak)