The Telegraph
Monday , April 7 , 2014
CIMA Gallary

Virat equals Hayden

Virat Kohli (77) registered his fourth consecutive half-century of the tournament. He now equals Matthew Hayden who also scored four fifties in the 2007 edition.

When on 58, Kohli (319 runs) registered 300 runs in this tournament. He becomes only the third player to score 300-plus runs in a single tournament. The others are Tillekaratne Dilshan (317 in 2009) and Mahela Jayawardene (302 in 2010).

When on 76, Kohli surpassed Dilshan (317 in 2009) to become the batsman with the most runs in a single edition of the World T20. Kohli has 319 runs in this year’s edition.

Kohli’s 77 is the second highest score in a World T20 final. He fell just short of Marlon Samuels 78 vs Sri Lanka at Colombo in the 2012 final. He also just missed out on bettering his highest T20I score of 78 not out vs Pak in Colombo (September 30, 2012).

When on 8, Jayawardene became the first player to score 1000 runs in all World T20 matches. The second best player Chris Gayle has 807.

Jayawardene (24) played his last T20 International. He has 1493 runs, narrowly missing out on reaching the 1500-run mark. He, however, remains the highest run-scorer so far for Sri Lanka in T20Is with Dilshan 1452 the second best.

Each of the five T20 World Cups have seen a different winner — India (2007), Pakistan (2009), England (2010), West Indies (2012) and Sri Lanka (2014).

Sri Lanka have now won two consecutive tournaments in Bangladesh (both in Dhaka) in two months. It may be recalled they won the Asia Cup in March and now the World T20 in April.

It was Sri Lanka’s first ICC tournament win since they won the 1996 ODI World Cup in Lahore beating Australia. They were, however, joint winners with India in the 2002-03 Champions Trophy.