The Telegraph e-Paper
The Telegraph
CIMA Gallary

Doctors to cure ‘system’

Reputed surgeon Heeralal Saha was among the eight candidates who filed their nominations for the Hazaribagh seat on Wednesday.

Among the others who filed their papers at the office of deputy commissioner and returning officer Sunil Kumar for the seat that goes to polls on April 17, were Loknath Mahto (Ajsu), Ajit Singh (TMC) and an Independent Dr Dhirendra Kumar Das.

Saha, who was proposed for a Padma Shri in 2007 for performing 1.5 lakh surgeries, claimed he wanted to perform the final surgery of the rotten system as MP.

In all, 22 nominations have been filed for the seat. Here are the notables who filed their papers on the last date.

Dhirendra Kumar Das (44, MBBS, MS): The resident of Sindoor locality came with 200 women to file his nomination to underscore the motto of his fledgling Jharkhand Mahila Jankalyan Party.

Pitch: I will make this place heaven for women if, by chance, I do get elected

Heeralal Saha (75, MS, Darbhanga Medical College; FRCS, Edinburgh): One of Hazaribagh’s most famous personalities, the man who has performed 1.5 lakh surgeries was keen on a BJP ticket. Denied one, he decided to float Jharkhand Vikas Dal.

Pitch: I want to do a final surgery of the system by taking out the rotten parts.

Loknath Mahto (66, Intermediate): Three time BJP MLA of Barkagaon who lost to Congress’s Yogendra Sao in 2009, Loknath joined Ajsu a few months back after a rift with BJP leader Yashwant Sinha.

Pitch: I will do my best for Hazaribagh’s development.

Ajit Singh (43, Intermediate): A resident of Khambwa village of Tatijharia block, Ajit is hopeful of cashing in on “didi (Bengal chief minister Mamata Banerjee) magic”.

Pitch: I am the real representative of the common man who will defeat money power.