The Telegraph e-Paper
The Telegraph
CIMA Gallary

Results pour in for council elections

Patna, March 26: Nawal Kishore Yadav of the BJP was declared elected from the Patna teachers’ seat, as counting for the eight seats of the state Legislative Council progressed on Wednesday.

Former minister and sitting MLC Devesh Chandra Thakur was leading with a comfortable margin from Tirhut graduate seat.

Thakur had recently quit the JD(U) after being denied ticket for the Rajya Sabha.

Sanjay Kumar Singh of the CPI was leading from the Tirhut teachers’ constituency.

Most of the results were to be announced late on Wednesday night because elections were conducted on ballot papers.

According to sources from Darbhanga graduate seat, the sitting JD(U) Member of Legislative Council Vinod Choudhary was trailing by a substantial margin behind Dilip Choudhary of the Congress.

From the Darbhanga teachers’ seat, Madan Mohan Jha of the Congress was leading by a slim margin over Suresh Rai of the BJP.

Counting in the Saran teachers’ and graduate seats was also in progress at the time of filing the report.