The Telegraph e-Paper
The Telegraph
CIMA Gallary

Chandmari win B-division title

Guwahati, March 19: Chandmari Sports Club annexed the Guwahati Sports Association B-division Cricket Tournament defeating New Star Club by six wickets in the final at the Latasil Playground here today. With this win, Chandmari Sports Club ensured their place in the next season of the GSA A-division Cricket League.

Batting first, New Star Club put up a total of 125 runs for the loss of seven wickets in 25 overs. Kutub Seikh scored 25 runs off 39 deliveries, which included three boundaries, while Ajay Akela chipped in with 23 runs. Tridip Deka picked up two wickets conceding 15 runs in his allotted five overs while Debojit Basumatary took one wicket for 32 runs in his quota of overs. In reply, Chandmari batsmen didnít face much of a problem as they eased past the target in 20.5 overs. Phatik Barman topscored with run-a-ball 57 runs, which featured five hits to the fence and three over the rope while Tenzing Gogoi chipped in with 36 runs off 42 deliveries.

Anshuman Saikia and Ajay Akela bagged two wickets each. Phatik Barman was adjudged the Man of the Final.

In another match, Food Corporation of India Sports Club inflicted a one-wicket defeat on City Cricket Club in their match of the Bhupen Chandra Mahanta GSA A Division Cricket League at the Nehru Stadium here today.

Put into bat, City batsmen managed 137 runs before being bundled out in 33.2 overs. Raja Nabil Islam scored 30 runs off 76 balls. Kon Urang was the pick of the FCI bowlers with five wickets for 38 runs. In reply, the FCI batsmen got past the target losing nine wickets in 31 overs. Rahul Hazarika topscored with 40 runs off 35 balls.

Akash Mourya picked up four wickets for 22 runs in his allotted overs.