The Telegraph
Wednesday , March 19 , 2014
CIMA Gallary

30-run win for Bud

Guwahati, March 18: Bud Cricket Club handed a 30-run defeat to Gauhati Town Club in their league encounter of the Bhupen Chandra Mahanta GSA first division cricket tournament at Nehru Stadium here today.

Batting first, Bud batsmen were restricted to a total of 143 for eight in the stipulated 35 overs and the GTC batsmen were later bowled out for 113 in 32.1 overs.

Wicketkeeper-batsman Hirakjyoti Das (47, 4x4) was the topscorer for Bud while Fazaruddin Ahmed remained unbeaten on 24 (2x4).

Dhiman Das and Pranjit Lahkar of GTC shared two wickets each, giving away 10 and 19 runs respectively.

In their chase, Sujit Gowala topscored for GTC with 40 (4x4) and Nitin Das chipped in with 19 (3x4).

Debabrata Roy was the Bud demolition man having hauled four for 14 while Bhaskar Kalita and Abir Chakraborty bagged two wickets each for 22 and 23 runs respectively.

City Cricket Club will meet Food Corporation of India SC in the next match tomorrow.

B Div Meet: New Star Club, who were relegated to the second division league last year, made it to the final of the GSA B division cricket tournament edging past Dynamo Club by four runs in the semi-finals at Latasil ground here today.

New Star elected to bat and posted 171 for three in the 20 overs and the Dynamo batsmen were restricted to 167 for nine in the 20 overs.

New Star will meet Chandmari SC in the final tomorrow.

Chandmari today handed a nine-wicket defeat to Maharana Athletic Club in the first semi-final.

Maharana elected to bat first and were restricted to 116 for eight in the stipulated 20 overs. Chandmari achieved the target losing a wicket in 15.3 overs.