The Telegraph
Sunday , March 16 , 2014
CIMA Gallary

Brahma is consensus candidate

Kokrajhar, March 15: The All Bodo Students’ Union and its allied organisations, the BPPF, NDFB (P), UDPF and the Peoples’ Joint Action Committee for Bodoland Movement (PJACBM) have jointly nominated former Rajya Sabha MP Urkhao Gwra Brahma as a consensus Independent candidate of Kokrajhar Lok Sabha (ST) seat.

The decision was taken at a meeting of the organisations held today at Kajalgaon in Chirang district.

Absu president Pramod Boro said organisations including Absu, BPPF, NDFB (P), UDPF, PJACBM had nominated former Rajya Sabha MP U.G. Brahma as a consensus Independent candidate in Kokrajhar Lok Sabha constituency.

He said the main issue would be a solution to the “Bodoland” problem permanently, safety and security of people living in the proposed “Bodoland” region and good governance. Boro also said the decision to support candidates for Mangaldoi and Tezpur Lok Sabha constituencies would be taken on March 20.

The BPF also held a meeting at Mushalpur in Baksa to decide on a party candidate.

BPF sources said sitting MP Sansuma Khunggur Bwiswmuthiary, former MLA and president of Assam Football Association Hemendra Nath Brahma and MLA Pramila Rani Brahma have submitted their names seeking tickets for the party’s candidate in Kokrajhar Lok Sabha constituency.

Sources in the BPF said Bwiswmuthiary and Brahma are strong contenders for the seat representing the BPF in the Lok Sabha polls. The BPF is likely to declare its candidate’s name on March 26.

Kokrajhar will see a multi-cornered fight with former Meghalaya governor R.S. Mooshahary in the fray on a Trinamul Congress ticket.