The Telegraph
Friday , March 14 , 2014
CIMA Gallary

13 on BJP list, one on Cong

Ranchi, March 13: Two national parties made back-to-back announcements of nominees late tonight with the Congress sticking to Subodh Kant Sahay for Ranchi and the BJP fielding Jayant Sinha for his father Yashwant’s seat of Hazaribagh.

The BJP announced candidates for 13 out of 14 LS seats in Jharkhand, withholding the name for Jamshedpur, and springing a major surprise in Jayant Sinha, who replaced his father, former external affairs minister Sinha.

Also making his debut for the BJP is Vishnu Dayal Ram, former Jharkhand DGP, who got the Palamau (SC) seat.

From Giridih, BJP stuck to Ravindra Kumar Pandey and from Dhanbad Pashupati Nath Singh. Hemlal Murmu, who switched over to BJP from JMM, got Rajmahal.

From Dumka, ex-MLA Sunil Soren has been fielded against JMM’s chief and sitting MP Shibu Soren, while from Godda, sitting BJP MP Nishikant Dubey would contest again.

State BJP president Ravindra Rai managed the ticket from Koderma. Sitting MPs Sudarshan Bhagat (Lohardaga) and Karia Munda (Khunti) were retained.

For Singhbhum, the party relied on Lakshman Gilua and for Chatra, instead of backing sitting Independent Chatra MP Inder Singh Namdhari, BJP fielded state general secretary Sunil Singh.

For Ranchi, BJP is fielding old-timer Ram Tahal Choudhary whom Sahay defeated in 2009.

Ranchi’s heavyweight MP Subodh Kant Sahay, whose name has been associated with cases of alleged impropriety inside and outside Jharkhand, has passed Rahul Gandhi’s criteria of being a “clean” candidate. Today, the Congress high command retained him as the party’s nominee for the Ranchi Lok Sabha seat.

“I am overwhelmed by seeing the kind of support people at large and workers of the party gave me. I am winning this seat. That the central leadership was opposed to my candidature was all speculation,” Sahay said.

 More stories in Front Page

  • Plane-hunt armada steams towards India's backyard
  • Scam on lap, ticket in hand
  • Ma, they call her Luprisca
  • Delhi scores, Devyani still in grey zone
  • 13 on BJP list, one on Cong
  • Unease puts list on hold
  • Ram Kripal to battle Misa
  • Congress plays cop card
  • War room shows Cong shift