The Telegraph e-Paper
The Telegraph
CIMA Gallary

Ankurjyoti Club pip GTC

Guwahati, March 12: Ankurjyoti Club registered a four-wicket victory over Gauhati Town Club in the inaugural match of the Suren Ram Phookun Maharana Centenary Prize-money Cricket Tournament at the Judges Field here today.

Batting first, GTC put up a total of 166 runs before being bundled out in 39.4 overs. In reply, Ankurjyoti batsmen reached the target losing six wickets in 35.1 overs.

Deep Bora topscored for GTC with 72 runs which included eight hits to the fence while Ram Kripal Gupta chipped in with 18 runs. Rio Pramanik and Abdul Saher Islam bagged three wickets each for 18 and 33 runs respectively. Raju Kalita bagged two wickets for 28 runs. For Ankurjyoti, Parthajit Baishya scored 45 runs, with five boundaries, while Raju Kalita remained unbeaten with a quickfire 32 runs off 13 balls, which included two hits to the fence and three over the rope. Abdul Saher Islam scored 26 runs while Rohit Sharma contributed 18 runs. Dhiman Das picked up two wickets conceding 27 runs in his allotted seven overs while Sujit Gowala scalped two wickets going for 25 runs in five overs. Bipul Koch and Avinav Choudhury picked up a wicket each.

 More stories in Northeast

  • Army act to be BJP poll plank in Manipur
  • Navajyoti beat Navarang
  • Gorkha union protests extortion
  • SHG project boost for Garo village
  • Modi tea an insult: Gogoi
  • Rabha panel plea to boycott all parties
  • Ankurjyoti Club pip GTC
  • ITC eyes NE biscuit market with joint venture
  • Mukul admits law and order 'problem'
  • NHRC orders relief for victim kin
  • Wait and watch on Bodoland: Ranjit
  • Family suspects foul play
  • Air service launched
  • Khurai, Rising win titles
  • Tapioca finds its 'green' value
  • Funds elude sports dept
  • Play cricket, save rhinos
  • Leaders, workers switch parties at will
  • Zico lives up to his name
  • Road rage over death
  • AGP first list out with seven names
  • Call for inclusive agarwood policy