The Telegraph
Monday , March 10 , 2014
CIMA Gallary

Khurai riders in final

Imphal, March 9: Khurai Polo Club rode into the final, defeating Tekcham Polo Club (A) by 6-3 goals in the 24th Governorís Cup Invitation Polo Tournament at Mapal Kangjeibung today.

In the first semi-final, Tekcham riders put up a good fight to render the first half goalless. Khurai Polo stepped up in the second chukker with P. Jotin and L. Thompson hitting home a goal each.

Tekcham Polo Club fought back and M. Manihar scored his teamís first goal. Th. Kaoba consolidated with another goal.

Khurai Polo Club found their way with P. Ojit, P. Jotin and T. Roshan striking a goal each for a 5-2 lead in the third chukker.

In the final chukker, Khurai rider T. Roshan came up with his teamís sixth goal to pave the way for a berth in the final. Tekcham rider Th. Kaoba scored another goal but it was not enough to save the day.

In the 13th Governorís Cup Womenís Polo Tournament, Imphal Riding Club trounced Eastern Students Club (B) by 18-1 goals.

Inter-district football: Imphal West District Football Association blanked DSA Bishnupur by 3-0 goals in the 17th Sub-Junior Boys Inter-District Football Tournament 2014 at Artificial Turf, Khuman Lampak. In another match, Imphal East District Football Association beat DFA Thoubal by 3-0 goals.

Corporate soccer: Aqua Dew drubbed Jamesh Traders by 16-0 goals in the 2nd Xenoh Corporate Football Challenge at Tabungkhok, Imphal West.

In the other matches, Imphal Hospital held SRM to a 2-2 goal draw, AMSU beat Bharati Infrated by 2-0 goals and SS Sound beat Raj Polyclinic by a solitary goal.

MCA cricket: Eastern Sporting Union posted a six-wicket win over Youth Welfare Club, Patsoi, in the 1st MCA Plate Tournament 2013-14, at Luwangpokpa Cricket Stadium. YWC Patsoi made 99 for 10 from 25 overs from a limited 30 overs with Samar hitting 44 runs.

In reply Eastern reached the target in 27.1 overs, losing five wickets. Shanker hit an unbeaten 66 runs for the Man of the Match award.

Veteranís T20: Cyclone Thangmeiband registered a seven-wicket win over NAPSA Kha Imphal in the 2nd T-20 Manipur Veteran Cricket Tournament 2013-14 at Langthabal public ground.

Seven-a-side hockey: Henjunaha Lairiyengbam Leikai got the better of Manipur Police Sports Club (A) by 6-4 goals during penalty stroke in the 2nd Y. Rashmani Memorial Invitation Menís Open Seven-a-Side Hockey Tournament 2014 organised by YCCIC at Kontha Ahallup.

Ksh. Wangamba of Manipur Police (A) was named Best Player.

Body-building: The All Manipur Body Building and Fitness Association has selected eight body builders for the Junior Mr India 2014 to be held in Hyderabad ó L. Gopeshwor and S. Naocha in 55kg, S. Ratnasagar and Kh. Dorendro in 65kg, Ch. Deepak, M. Thoiba and A. Malemnganba in 70kg and A. Sushilkumar in the 75kg category.