The Telegraph
Friday , February 28 , 2014
CIMA Gallary

Dal shows door to five MPs

Patna, Feb. 27: The JD(U) today expelled four Lok Sabha MPs and outgoing Rajya Sabha member Shivanand Tiwari for their alleged anti-party activities.

The Lok Sabha MPs shown the door are Sushil Kumar Singh, Jai Narain Nishad, Mangani Lal Mandal and Purnmasi Ram. Confirming their expulsion, the national general secretary of the JD(U), K.C. Tyagi, said: “They have been expelled for anti-party activities.”

There was hardly any surprise element in the expulsion of the four Lok Sabha MPs after they openly extended support to either the BJP or the RJD. Tiwari, the outgoing Rajya Sabha MP, might return to the RJD.

Singh, the Lok Sabha MP from Aurangabad, faced disciplinary action after his brother contested the last Assembly polls on an RJD ticket. After the BJP-JD(U) split, he announced that he would seek a re-election on the BJP ticket.

Nishad, who represents the Muzaffarpur parliamentary seat, embarrassed the JD(U) leadership by conducting a havan in his New Delhi residence so that Narendra Modi becomes the Prime Minister. He is eyeing a BJP ticket for his son from his seat.

Jhanjharpur MP Mandal has been facing the ire of the JD(U) since the 2010 polls when he was charged with trying to defeat rural development minister Nitish Mishra, the JD(U)’s official candidate from Jhanjharpur Assembly seat. As the party moved for his disqualification (later withdrawn), Mandal publicly called chief minister Nitish Kumar a dictator. He also said he would contest the Lok Sabha polls on the RJD ticket.

Ram, the MP of Gopalganj, also publicly criticised Nitish Kumar’s style of functioning. He openly said he did not want a JD(U) re-nomination and was reportedly seeking RJD ticket from Valmiki Nagar.

The outgoing Rajya Sabha MP, Shivanand Tiwari, was denied a re-nomination allegedly for speaking out his mind in the party’s Rajgir meet last year. Since then, he has been criticising Nitish. Even today, he claimed that the chief minister was the mastermind behind the split in the RJD.

After expulsion, he told The Telegraph: “I shall make a statement later.”

Lalu loyalist in BJP

Lalu loyalist and three-time MLC Nawal Kishore Yadav and his supporters today joined the BJP.