The Telegraph
Tuesday , February 25 , 2014
CIMA Gallary

Kohli is now at 8th spot

Calcutta: Owing to his decent performance in the recently-concluded two-Test series against New Zealand, India batsman Virat Kohli on Monday rose to his career-best eighth position in the latest ICC Test rankings issued in Dubai.

Kohli, who made 214 runs in four innings in New Zealand, jumped a place to be at eighth with 784 ranking points.

Cheteshwar Pujara is still the highest ranked Indian at seventh position in the batsmen list, which is headed by South Africa’s AB de Villiers.

In the bowlers’ table, off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin has climbed up a spot to be the highest-ranked Indian Test bowler at ninth place.

Ashwin, meanwhile, maintained his top position in the player rankings for Test all-rounders.

Meanwhile, India’s second position in Test rankings is threatened by Australia, who need just a draw against South Africa in the ongoing Test series to move ahead.

A two-Test series loss has resulted in India slipping from 117 ratings points to 112, which means that they are ahead of Australia by just one rating point.

The Aussies now have a great opportunity of finishing ahead of India on the table before the April 1 cut-off date. South Africa are already guaranteed the number-one position at cut-off date, and will retain the mace and will also collect a cheque of USD 450,000.

South Africa's quartet of Hashim Amla, Faf du Plessis, JP Duminy and Dean Elgar, as well as Australia's David Warner, Chris Rogers and Nathan Lyon were the biggest movers, following the conclusion of the Port Elizabeth Test.


Batsmen: 1. AB de Villiers (SA); 2. H. Amla (SA); 2.K. Sangakkara (SL); 4.S. Chanderpaul (WI); 5. R. Taylor (NZ); 6. Misbah (Pak); 7. C. Pujara (Ind); 8. V. Kohli (Ind); 9. M. Clarke (Aus); 10. D. Warner (Aus)

Bowlers: 1. D. Steyn (SA); 2. V. Philander (SA); 3. M. Johnson (Aus); 4. R. Harris (Aus); 5. S. Ajmal (Pak); 6. R. Herath (SL); 7. T. Boult (NZ); 8. T. Southee (NZ); 9. R. Ashwin (Ind); 10. P. Siddle (Aus)

All-rounders: 1. R. Ashwin (Ind); 2. Shakib (Ban); 3. V. Philander (SA); 4. S. Broad (Eng); 5. M. Johnson (Aus)