The Telegraph e-Paper
The Telegraph
CIMA Gallary

Victory for Nitish

Guwahati, Feb. 17: Nitish Das of host GTC Chess Foundation annexed the title in the 11th GTC Chess Grand Prix held on the Gauhati Town Club premises here yesterday.

Das finished unbeaten in the seven-round Swiss league event to tally seven points.

Better-rated Amlan Mahanta finished runners-up with six points from seven rounds while former champion Ravikant Tiwari got the third slot with 5.5 points.

Debanga Kalita and Debanga Kaushik Bhattacharyya tallied five points each and finished fourth and fifth respectively on the basis of tiebreak scores. Abhilekh Mahanta, Kaustav Lahiri, Rishita Sinha, Tridev Buragohain and Dhrupad Kashyap shared 4.5 points to be placed sixth to 10th respectively on the basis of tiebreak scores in the final rankings.

Aayushraj Sharma was named Best Player in the under-7 category followed by Jayaditya Das and Anmol Bharadwaj. In under-9 group, Anubrat Barthakur was named the Best Player while Nibir Baruah and Navya Bajaj finished second and third respectively.

Bhabishnu Pranti Bordoloi was named the Best under-11 player of the tournament while Prithwis Das and Bhuvnesh Dixit were named second and third respectively. In the under-13 event, Jigyashdipta Gogoi, Arnab Kr Pathak and Maharnav Deka occupied the top three positions. Among the girls, Jenifa Islam was named Best Player.