The Telegraph
Friday , February 14 , 2014
CIMA Gallary

Navajyoti triumph

Challenge cricket

Guwahati, Feb. 13: Navajyoti Club inflicted a thumping 221-run defeat on Brahmaputra Boys Club in today’s match of the Servo 21st Guwahati Challenge Trophy cricket tournament, organised by River Rine Club, at Judges Field here.

Navajyoti Club opted to bat and piled up 349 for six in 40 overs. In their chase, Brahmaputra Boys were bundled out for 128 in 27.4 overs.

While Hrishikesh Tamuli topscored for Navajyoti Club with a brilliant 107 off 103 balls, slamming a dozen fours and a six, Avijit Singha Roy fell five runs short of a ton when he got out for 95 facing 51 balls, hitting eight boundaries and seven over-boundaries.

Bikash Chhetri remained unbeaten on 36 (3x4).

Bikash Yadav of Brahmaputra Boys bagged two wickets for 52 runs.

In their chase, Mintu Sarkar (21, 2x4, 1x6), Abdul Aziz (16, 2x4) and Dipankar Das (16, 2x4) were the notable scorers for Brahmaputra Boys.

Bikash Chetri ripped through the innings with the wickets of three for 14 while Abhinav Konwar, Kon Urang and Bitop Mahanta shared two each for 14, 20 and 29 runs respectively.

T20 cricket: The Assam Sports Journalists Association is going to organise a quadrangular T20 cricket tournament among journalists here at Nehru Stadium from February 27 to March 3. The four teams involved are Electronic Media, Assam Photo Journalists’ Association, Guwahati Press Club and hosts Assam Sports Journalists Association.

 More stories in Northeast

  • 5yr dose for Assam docs
  • MP to raise Bodoland din
  • Twin protests against attacks
  • Confusion over legality of coal mining in South Garo hills
  • Woo your love with a long-stemmed rose
  • 200 dist council poll booths hypersensitive
  • Dispur's Rongali Bihu gift
  • Appeal for chess as subject
  • IRB jawans face scribe assault slur
  • Truce awaits cabinet nod
  • Aid boost for road network
  • 13-year-old to play for Meghalaya
  • Global laurels for scientist
  • AIUDF replaces Ataur
  • Navajyoti triumph
  • Manipur cops win opener
  • Garo hills peace rally on March 9
  • System to monitor groundwater
  • Samayik Prasanga, BVEMA take lead