The Telegraph
Wednesday , February 12 , 2014
CIMA Gallary

Hogg, 43, included in squad

Calcutta: Australia’s selectors opted for experience over youth in their 15-member squad for the World Twenty20, to be held in Bangladesh next month.

Australia selected veterans Brad Hogg, Brad Hodge and Brad Haddin although young leg-spinner James Muirhead was also named after putting up impressive performances in the T20 series against England. George Bailey will captain the side.

The 43-year-old Hogg played his last Test in 2008 but the spin bowler was Man of the Match in last week’s Big Bash final for the victorious Perth Scorchers and is now set to become the oldest player in the history of international T20 cricket.

The oldest man ever to play a T20 International was Kenya’s Steve Tikolo.

The squad

George Bailey (captain), Dan Christian, Nathan Coulter-Nile, James Faulkner, Aaron Finch, Brad Haddin, Brad Hodge, Brad Hogg, Glenn Maxwell, James Muirhead, Mitchell Johnson, Mitchell Starc, David Warner, Shane Watson, Cameron White.