The Telegraph
Wednesday , February 12 , 2014
CIMA Gallary

Panel to decide on poll tickets

Shillong, Feb. 11: The AICC screening committee will be meeting in New Delhi on Thursday to take a call on the party’s candidates from Shillong and Tura parliamentary seats.

Union minister of state in the Prime Minister’s office V. Narayanasamy heads the screening committee. It includes Meghalaya PCC chief D.D. Lapang and chief minister Mukul Sangma as members.

Both Lapang and Sangma will be present during the meeting on Thursday, sources said.

From the Shillong seat, the committee will have to choose from among four contenders. These include incumbent MP Vincent H. Pala, former Assembly Speaker Charles Pyngrope, leader of traditional institutions John F. Kharshiing, and party legislator representing Mylliem constituency Ronnie V. Lyngdoh.

For the Tura seat, the eight aspirants include Meghalaya sports and youth affairs minister Zenith M. Sangma who is also the younger brother of chief minister Mukul Sangma, Salmanpara legislator Winnerson D. Sangma and Daryl William Cheran Momin, grandson of late Capt. Williamson A. Sangma, Meghalaya’s first chief minister.

The others include former legislator Adolf Lu Hitler R. Marak, Meghalaya Pradesh Youth Congress general secretary Richard M. Marak, former bureaucrats Arlene M. Sangma and D.K. Areng and Meghalaya PCC general secretary Polycarp Marak.