The Telegraph
Saturday , February 8 , 2014
CIMA Gallary

Manoj is back in action

Calcutta: Manoj Tiwary scored 48 for Kalighat as he returned to action, after a seven-month lay-off because of a knee injury, in the CAB senior division league tie against Tollygunge, on Thursday.

At the Jadavpur University Salt Lake campus ground, Tiwary batted for 94 minutes before being caught at mid off. He hit four boundaries and two sixes and survived on one occasion.

“It feels good… I’m happy with my match fitness,” he said later. “I was excited about playing today and couldn’t sleep well last night.

“Psychologically the injury does play at the back of your mind… It’s not easy to come back and it’s a process… The more matches I play, the more easier it will become,” he explained.

Manoj is setting sights on an India comeback. “The ultimate goal is obviously to play for India again… But I will take it step by step… The IPL is important, but for me it’s more important to play for Bengal and India.”

Elsewhere, Town rode twin centuries from Dipak Prasad and Azaz Ansari to reach 565/5 against Aryan.


Rajasthan Club 250 all out in 81.3 overs (Santosh Sabanayakan 60, Dipanjan Mukherjee 59). Young Bengal 41/0 in 6 overs

Eastern Rly SA 402/5 in 85 overs (Pankaj Shaw 107, Arif Ansari 87, Kinkar Roy 60, Ayan Nandi 54) vs Shambazar Club

Suburban Club 205 all out in 61.5 overs (Pralay Dey 80; Sultan Ahmed 6/55). Mohun Bagan 209/4 in 19.4 overs (Jayojit Basu 100). Mohun Bagan won by 6 wkts

Ballygunge United 191 all out in 62.5 overs (Romit Sengupta 94; Rishi Sharma 4/53, Sanjit Sardar 3/66). Sporting Union 44/0 in 20 overs

United Club 343 all out in 84 overs (Ranajit Kundu 51, Jayjeet Jaiswal 57, Jagdish Agarwal 72; Amit Bakshi 3/87) vs Police AC

Town Club 565/5 in 85 overs (Dipak Prasad 172, Azaz Ansari 185, Atanu Ghosh 61, Soham Ghosh 83; Mandip Singh 3/143) vs Aryan Club

George Telegraph 339/8 in 85 overs (Jivin John 156, Rahul Gupta 53). Bhowanipore 12/0 in 2 overs

Dalhousie AC 313/9 in 85 overs (Olive Chandra 106, Sumit Prasad 74; Raashid Raza 7/93) vs Shibpur Institute

Kalighat 321/6 in 66 overs (Sayan Sekhar Mondal 50, Sreevats Goswami 54, Manoj Tiwary 48) vs Tollygunge Agragami

Calcutta Customs 235 all out in 77.2 overs (Raja Adhikary 61; Shib Sagar Singh 5/65). East Bengal 16/0 in 4 overs

DKS 249 all out in 85 overs (Mandeep Singh 81; Devendra Ranolia 5/79) vs Calcutta Port Trust SC

BNR SC 360/7 in 85 overs (Swapan Das 104*, Rahul Sen 82; Subrata Barua 4/109) vs Paikpara SC

(All matches to continue unless otherwise mentioned)