The Telegraph
Saturday , February 1 , 2014
CIMA Gallary

Besu brings Lyngdoh to campus poll

Students with attendance below 75 per cent or academic backlog will be barred from contesting the student union elections at the Bengal Engineering and Science University (Besu).

The Besu on Friday published on its website the eligibility criteria for students willing to contest the election to be held within a fortnight.

“We have incorporated some of the key recommendations of the Lynghdoh committee… such as 75 per cent attendance and no academic backlog to ensure that bright and efficient students get elected,” Besu registrar Biman Banerjee said.

This makes the Besu the first state university to implement at least some of the recommendations of the Lyngdoh committee, which the human resource development ministry had set up in accordance with a directive from the Supreme Court in 2005.

The university’s executive council had on November 1 resolved to follow the eligibility criteria for campus elections. The council had approved the institution’s new constitution on January 21.

“Every candidate contesting the constituency must have attained the minimum attendance in academic classes,” states Section 25.2 in Article 25 of the Besu constitution.

The Lyngdoh committee report says: “The candidate should have attained the minimum percentage of attendance as prescribed by the university or 75 per cent attendance, whichever is higher.”

As for academic backlog, the Lyngdoh panel report reads: “…although the committee would refrain from prescribing any particular minimum marks to be attained by the candidate, the candidate should in no event have any academic arrears in the year of contesting the election”.

Section 25.1, Article 25, of the Besu constitution bars students from contesting campus polls on the same grounds.

“In keeping with the recommendations, the Besu students’ union will henceforth be called the Besu Students’ Senate,” an official said.

The new constitution states that every department in the faculties of engineering, applied science and social and management sciences will have an academic society.

The academic societies in the engineering faculty will have seven constituencies, including four for the undergraduate programme, two in the postgraduate section and one for the doctoral programme.

Students will enjoy the right to elect class representatives in their respective constituency.

The applied science and management science departments will have three constituencies each.

Elections will also be held for clubs and other societies — such as photography, music, dance and choreography, dramatics, debate and creative writing, quiz and creative software and scientific design.

Any student can become a member of one or more societies but they can contest or vote for only one society.

The secretaries of the academic societies and the clubs will become members of the general council, which in turn will elect the general secretary, treasurer and the assistant general secretary.

A five-member executive secretariat, including two professors, will manage the council.