The Telegraph e-Paper
The Telegraph
CIMA Gallary

Probables listed for cricket tourney

Jharkhand State Cricket Association (JSCA) on Tuesday announced the probable for Jamshedpur team for HP Bodhanwala Trophy to be held in Ranchi from February 5.

The 19-member list comprises a clutch of cricketers who have donned state jerseys in Ranji Trophy as well as some youngsters who are eager to make a mark in this senior inter-district tournament where performance is considered as yardstick for selection in the state side.

Led by dashing southpaw Saurabh Tiwary who is a certainty in the final squad, the others who have been shortlisted are Rameez Nemat, Vishal Singh, Ishank Jaggi, Virat Singh, Rohit Raja Jha, Rahul Shukla, Jaskaran Singh, A. Pawan Kumar, Mithun Mukherjee, Samar Quadri, Dominic Rex, Debabrat Das, Ashish Yadav, Ajit Dwivedy, Prashant Rahul, Maninder Singh Kalsi, Sumitabh Kumar and P. Bheema Rao.

The final list of 15 will be announced shortly.

Deepak Kumar, a former Ranji player, has been named mentor of the side.

“The likes of batsmen Debabrat Das, Prashant Rahul and Sumitabh Kumar and left-arm spinner Dominic Rex have been performing well in the local league conducted by us and will be keen to impress the state selectors,” a JSCA official said.

Right-hander Das in particular has been in excellent form and has struck a fine century while turning out for Pioneer Cricket Club recently.

Notably, Das has been performing consistently in senior inter-district matches for some years but is yet to be selected for the Jharkhand side.