The Telegraph
Sunday , January 26 , 2014
CIMA Gallary

IG Rao wins prez award

Ranchi, Jan. 25: CRPF inspector-general (operations) M.V. Rao’s name was announced for the President Police Medal for Distinguished Services today on the eve of Republic Day.

This apart, as many as 11 policemen from the state have been nominated for the Police Medal for Gallantry (PMG).

The cops include additional SP Deepak Kumar Sinha, SDPO Ashwini Kumar Sinha, SIs Md. Perwez Alam and Birendra Kumar Ram, late constable Raju Singh (posthumously) and constables Ramesh Giri, Sita Ram Mardi, Brajesh Kumar, Pradeep Kumat Mehta, Praveen Kumar Jha and Uday Chand Meena.

Deepak Kumar Sinha is additional superintendent of police in Seraikela while Mohammed Perwez Alam is a sub-inspector in the same district. Raju Singh, who was also in the same district, died during an encounter, in which police gunned down extremist Balram Sahu.

SI Aswhini Kumar Sinha, who is currently posted in CID, and Latehar OC Birendra Kumar Ram, along with constables Praveen Kumar Jha, Pradeep Kumar Mehta and Uday, had gunned down nine Maoists in an encounter in Barwadih on Jaunary 28, 2011.

SDPO Sinha, the hero of Barwadih encounter, said he was happy to get the award even though it came three years after the incident.

“Every policeman dreams of a presidential award in his life and I got it. Credit for the same goes to my parents, all elders and my colleagues. It is a result of team effort”.

Among the recipients of Police Medal for Meritorious Service were inspector Md. Alimmuddin, havildars Pershuram Rai and Sanjeev Rai, constable Mukesh Kumar and ASI Ramshankar Kunwar.