The Telegraph
Friday , January 10 , 2014
CIMA Gallary

Rasool leads J&K fightback

Vadodara: Captain Parvez Rasool led from the front with a scintillating century as Jammu and Kashmir fought back gallantly to leave their Ranji Trophy quarter final match against strong contenders Punjab evenly poised here on Thursday.

In reply to Punjab’s first innings score of 304, Jammu and Kashmir rode Rasool’s gutsy 103 off 137 balls before folding up for 277, conceding a slender first innings lead of 27 runs on the second day.

J&K seamers Umar Nazir and Mohammed Mudhasir then struck two early blows to remove the in-form openers Jiwanjot Singh (8) and Manan Vohra (7) cheaply. At stumps, Punjab were struggling at 15 for two, having an overall lead of 42.

In Bangalore, seamers Abhimanyu Mithun and Ranganath Vinay Kumar wreaked havoc as Karnataka reduced Uttar Pradesh to 221 for nine, giving themselves a good chance to grab first innings lead.

Mithun was the most successful bowler with figures of four for 70 but Vinay was the most difficult as he picked up three wickets after conceding 49 runs in 18 overs.

Mithun removed Prashant Gupa (0), Mohammed Kaif (0), Chawla (56) and Amit Mishra (4), while Vinay picked up Tanmay Srivastava (32), Mukul Dagar (13) and Eklavya Dwivedi (2).

Pacer H S Sharath and part-time spinner Robin Uthappa picked one wicket each. Sharath removed Ali Murtaza (1) caught behind by Gautam, who claimed first of the three catches in the day.

Meanwhile, Mumbai pacer Shardul Thakur produced an incisive four-wicket haul after the home team’s tail wagged merrily to put the defending champions in total command of the Ranji Trophy quarter final against Maharshtra.

Thakur bent his back on the bouncy Wankhede wicket and produced fiery spells, backed up by a very attacking umbrella field behind the wicket on both sides, to shake up the Maharashtra batting line up after Mumbai ran up a huge first innings total of 402.

Summarised Scores

v In Bangalore: Karnataka 349. Uttar Pradesh 221/9 (A. Mithun 4/70, R. Vinay Kumar 3/49)

v In Mumbai: Mumbai 402. Maharashtra 219/7 (A. Bawne 84)

v In Vadodara: Punjab 304 & 15/2. Jammu & Kashmir 277 (P. Rasool 103)

All matches to continue