The Telegraph
Saturday , January 4 , 2014
CIMA Gallary

Run Calcutta run... Dil diyey

WHAT? The Kolkata Marathon… Dil Diyey Douroben!

WHY? To support the underprivileged cancer patients at Tata Medical Center

WHEN? Sunday, from 6am

WHERE? Red Road, from in front of Mohammedan Sporting Club

How to register?

Registration charge is Rs 300. You can register for the Fun Run or Walk/ Corporate Run or Walk/ School Run till Sunday morning. But if you want to run the Marathon or the Mini Marathon, you will have to register your name at Calcutta Kennel Club, Maidan Tent, by 2pm on Saturday. Participants below 18 years won’t be allowed in both categories while a medical check-up — between 11am and 2pm on Saturday at Calcutta Parsi Club, Maidan Tent — in these two categories is compulsory. T-shirts, refreshments and goodies will be given to all participants.

Prize money?

Men (42.195km): Rs 3.20 lakh (1st), Rs 1.60 lakh (2nd), Rs 80,000 (3rd)

Women (11km): Rs 1.10 lakh (1st), Rs 55,000 (2nd), Rs 30,000 (3rd)

Finisher certificates will be awarded to all participants who finish the full Marathon for men within three-and-a-half-hours and the Mini Marathon (11km) within one-and-a-half-hours.

Star participants: Every runner for the cause is a star. Nearly 10,000 participants have already registered. Watch out for governor M.K. Narayanan, Sourav Ganguly, Anamika Khanna, Usha Uthup and several other Calcuttans at the starting line. Usha Uthup, who has composed The Kolkata Marathon anthem Dil Diyey Douroben, will be singing on an open-air vehicle before the Corporate Run. Tanushree Shankar’s dance troupe will perform before the start. The governor will receive the torch from the athletes and light the Marathon flame. Star footballers from Team East Bengal will take part. Runners from Punjab, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Chhattisgarh, Meghalaya, Odisha, Bihar, Uttar Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Delhi, Maharashtra will participate. Students from St James’ School, Modern High School and many more will take part. Mir will be the emcee for the event.