The Telegraph
Saturday , September 21 , 2013

Ebela awards

(L-R) Debjani Basu, Sarbani Das Roy, Piyali Das, Panchali Ghosh (on behalf of daughter Anwesha Ghosh), Mrinal Kanti Dutta, Kallol Ghosh, Mamata Shankar (judge), Jhulan Goswami (judge), Sankar Kumar Sarkar, Sabyasachi Chakrabarty (judge), Nandini Chakraborty, Dr Amitabha Mukhopadhyay and Dibyendu Nandi at the Ebela Aami Aamar Mato Samman at the Science City auditorium on Tuesday evening. To celebrate the “aami aamar mato” spirit among its readers, Ebela, on its first anniversary, felicitated 13 individuals who managed to be themselves despite the odds. A panel of judges comprising Mamata Shankar, Sabyasachi Chakrabarty, Jhulan Goswami, Bhaichung Bhutia, Debabrata Sarkar and Suchitra Bhattacharya shortlisted 10 out of hundreds of applications for the award. Readers then selected their three favourites through SMS vote — Sarbani Das Roy, Dibyendu Nandi and Sankar Kumar Sarkar. There were three special winners of the evening — singers Usha Uthup and Anupam Roy, and additional director general BSF (East) B.D. Sharma, who was posted as IG (correctional services) in Bengal.

(L-R) Anupam Roy, Usha Uthup, Kiran Sharma (on behalf of husband B.D. Sharma), Sarbani Das Roy, Dibyendu Nandi and Sankar Kumar Sarkar — the winners of the Ebela Aami Aamar Mato Samman.




“Amio amar mato, taai ami kichhutei nijer room guchhiye rakhbo na,” declared Mir, emcee for the evening! The funnyman sure knew how to keep the packed auditorium entertained while the musicians ran sound checks on stage.



Felicitations over, Tum hi ho man Arijit Singh took over to thunderous applause. “Happy birthday, Ebela,” said the 26-year-old, as Usha Uthup welcomed him on stage. With Illahi (YJHD), Milne hai mujhse aayi (Aashiqui 2), Dilliwaali girlfriend (YJHD), and a medley of Manna De songs, the Murshidabad lad rocked it.