The Telegraph
Wednesday , June 26 , 2013
CIMA Gallary

Williams to race for 600th time

Calcutta: The Williams F1 team will celebrate a landmark achievement this Sunday at the British Grand Prix by racing for the 600th time in Formula One.

Founded in 1977 by Frank Williams and Patrick Head, Williams have finished on the podium 297 times, and have won 114 races and 16 World Championship titles over the last 36 years.

Nine of these titles have been won in the Constructors’ Championship, with the remaining seven titles being Drivers’ Championships won with Alan Jones, Keke Rosberg, Nelson Piquet, Nigel Mansell, Alain Prost, Damon Hill and Jacques Villeneuve.

Williams have have earned founder and Team Principal Frank Williams a knighthood in the 1999 New Year’s Honours List to augment France’s highest decoration, the legion d’Honneur.

The team will publicly celebrate reaching 600 races at their home Grand Prix this weekend a fitting place to celebrate as Silverstone witnessed the team’s first ever race win in 1979 and their 100th race win in 1997.

Williams said; “To reach 600 races at the pinnacle of motorsport is a remarkable achievement. Our longevity is a testament to the people who have sacrificed so much. It seems only right to mark this milestone at the home of British motorsport.”