The Telegraph
Saturday , June 8 , 2013
CIMA Gallary

AMFA bans two coaches

Imphal, June 7: The All-Manipur Football Association has banned two coaches for flouting inter-state transfer norms and aiding four players, who were also suspended.

While players M. Meino Singh, Th. Premkumar Singh, S. Surchand Singh and L. Bikram — all belonging to the Manipur state league team, Tiddim Road Athletic Union — were suspended for four months, coaches Joy Kabui and M. Ratankumar Singh were banned from coaching for the association as well its affiliates for the 2013-14 season.

The association statement said the four players had played for KKFC Kohima in the last AIFF 2nd division league without having inter-state transfer certificates, which was a gross violation of player transfer regulations.

It is learnt that the players had applied for transfer to the Kohima club but it was not granted as Tiddim Road Athletic Union had objected to the move.

Coach Joy Kabui, however, allegedly misled the players stating that the transfer had been granted. Subsequently, M. Ratankumar, who was the state team coach for Santosh Trophy 2013 held in Kerala, released the players without crosschecking with the association or any competent authority.

The statement said Ratankumar’s action made him Kabui’s accomplice and hence disciplinary action was initiated against him, too.

U-15 soccer

Birchandra Memorial Sporting Club, which will represent India in the U-15 Boys South East Asia Manchester United Premier Cup 2013 to be held at Kuala Lampur in Malaysia left Imphal today.

The team will depart for Malaysia from Calcutta tomorrow.

The league matches are scheduled to begin on June 11.

Rowing team: The Assam Rowing and Boat Racing Association today named an 11-member state team to participate in the 41st KC Mahindra All-India Invitation Schools Regatta, 2013, organised by the Lake Club Ltd of Calcutta, from June 9 to 16.

The team will leave from Guwahati tomorrow.

The team comprises Nixon J. Brahma, Shankhanil Tamuli, Rohit Bhattacharyya, Akash Deep Rajkhowa, Sreyash Kashyap, Aryan Lahon, Swapnanil Tamuli, Sahmin Rizvi, Udayaditya Bora, Shouvik Rizvi and Natasha Saikia.