The Telegraph
Monday , February 25 , 2013
Since 1st March, 1999

Assam thrash hosts by seven wickets

Guwahati, Feb. 24: Assam women today registered their second straight victory in the East Zone league of the T20 tournament at Jamshedpur in Jharkhand.

After beating Bengal by seven wickets in their first match yesterday, Assam today got the better of hosts Jharkhand by seven wickets to tally full points from two matches and be in contention for a knockouts’ berth, having overcome two of the strongest opponents.

Put to bat first today, the home side were restricted to a modest total of 76 for eight and the visitors achieved the target comfortably in 15.3 overs losing only three wickets.

Opener Rajni Basnet gave Assam a good start with a 23-run knock, hitting two boundaries and skipper Reema Malhotra saw the visitors through to victory with an unbeaten 25 (4x4).

N. Prasad, K. Prasad and A. Srivastava of Jharkhand picked up a wicket each.

Earlier, as many as three Jharkhand batswomen ran themselves out while Neeta Kumbang of Assam claimed two for six to restrict the hosts to a modest total. Opener R. Singh (19, 4x3) and N. Prasad (12 not out) were the only Jharkhand batswomen to score in double figures.

Yesterday, Assam opened the campaign by winning the tossing and putting the Bengal counterparts to bat first.

Bengal were restricted to 112 for three and the Assam women reached 113 for three with five balls to spare.

Opener Ananya Mitra (39, 4x4) and P. Roy (36, 4x3) were the main scorers for Bengal while national team skipper Jhulan Goswami remained unbeaten on eight.

Nisha Sharma of Assam claimed one for 17 as the other two Bengal batswomen were run out.

For Assam, opener Nisha Sharma topscored with 46 (4x7) and Anita Lodhi contributed a run-a-ball 27 (4x4). Malhotra and Latika Kumari remained not out on 16 each. Goswami, Saika Ishaque and P. Roy of Bengal picked up a wicket each.

Assam will play Odisha in their next outing on Tuesday.