The Telegraph
Wednesday , January 23 , 2013
Since 1st March, 1999
CIMA Gallary

Kalighat shocked

Mirza Danish Alam scored 59 to help YMCA (Coll.) defeat Kalighat by 103 runs to enter the quarter finals of the CAB Senior Knockout tournament on Tuesday. The loss came as a shock for Kalighat, who had six players — including Manoj Tiwary — from the current Bengal team.

In the process, YMCA (Coll.) have also qualified for the P. Sen Trophy.

Summarised scores

YMCA (Coll.) 276/7 in 45 overs (M. D. Alam 59). Kalighat 173 in 41.1 overs (W. Ahmed 3/28). YMCA (Coll.) won by 103 runs

Shambazar 258 (247+11)/9 in 45 overs (V. Singh 100; S. Kanojia 6/45). Aikya Sammilani 113 in 36.3 overs (V.P. Singh 3/25). Shambazar Club won by 145 runs

Customs 138 in 39.3 overs (M. Choubey 50; S. Sil 4/36). Mohun Bagan 139/2 in 20.3 overs (W. Saha 75). Mohun Bagan won by 8 wickets

East Bengal 325 (260 + 65)/7 in 45 overs (W. Porel 80; M. Singh 3/54). Kumartuli Institute 227 in 42.1 overs (A. Jhunjhunwala 3/35). East Bengal won by 98 runs

Paikpara SC 241 (221 + 20)/6 in 45 overs (S. Ghosh 52). Wari AC 179 in 39.2 overs (S. Singh 3/32). Paikpara SC won by 62 runs

Town Club 288/7 in 45 overs (A. Ghosh 83, D. Ghosh 69; R. Prasad 3/53). Tapan Memorial Club 242 in 44.3 overs (B. Rahaman 54). Town Club won by 46 runs

Bhowanipore Club 369 (338+31)/5 in 45 overs (A. Das 90, A. Chowdhury 77 n.o., S. Khan 70). Dalhousie AC 314 (301+13)/4 in 45 overs (S. Shukla 69; B. Amit 3/40). Bhowanipore Club won by 55 runs

Police AC 199 (191+8)/9 in 45 overs (S. Mondal 3/33). Sporting Union 200/2 in 38.2 overs (S. Ghosh 93 n.o., P. Dutta 82). Sporting Union won by 8 wickets

Tennis meet

The unseeded Croatian Nino Serdarusic created an upset in the boys’ first-round of the Gujarat NRE ITF Junior Tennis Championship at DKS on Tuesday, defeating fifth seed Sahil Deshmukh 7-6 (3), 6-0.

State games

The fourth edition of the Netaji Subhas State Games will see the participation of eight women’s teams. The games will be held at SAI from Thursday to Saturday. Two matches will be played between the four qualifiers on Friday. The final and the 3rd position playoff match will be played on Saturday.

Bengal squad

A 14-member Bengal squad was announced for the National Billiards & Snooker Championship, which will be held at Gwalior from Saturday. The West Bengal Billiards Association felicitated its first president P.N. Roy on Tuesday.

The squad

Manish Jain and Akram Khan (both senior billiards); Ameer Hussain and Vishal Sahay (both senior snooker); Suniti Damani and Neeta Kothari (both billiards and snooker); Sarfarazuddin (junior billiards); Rohit Malhotra (junior billiards and snooker); Gurbachan Singh (junior snooker); Animesh Fatepuria and Doyel Dey (sub-junior billiards and snooker); Dheerendra Baid (sub-junior billiards); Mohammed Shif Khan and Soumo Dutta (both sub-junior snooker)