The Telegraph
Thursday , January 17 , 2013
Since 1st March, 1999
CIMA Gallary

Subhomoy hits a century

Subhomoy Das hit 117 as Mohun Bagan piled up 320 for four in a CAB First Division League match against Dalhousie AC, on Wednesday.
Debabrata Das scored an unbeaten 85, while Arindam Ghosh chipped in with 70. In another match, Bhowanipore's Writtick Chatterjee almost single-handedly carried his team to 275 for nine, against Kumartuli.
Writtick was unbeaten on 114 even as Kumartuli’s Sohom Chowdhury claimed three wickets.
Sporting Union made the maximum runs of the day as they piled up 490 for six, against Paikpara SC. Amitava Chakraborty scored 131.
George Telegraph's Ambikeshwar Mishra had a good day in office as he took six wickets, giving away 83 runs, and helped his team restrict Suburban to 329. In reply, George were 37 without loss after 8 overs.

Mohun Bagan 320/4 in 64.4 ovs (Subhomoy Das 117, Debabrata Das 85 n.o.) vs Dalhousie AC
Bhowanipore 275/9 in 62 ovs (Writtick Chatterjee 114 n.o.; Sohom Chowdhury 3/60) vs Kumartuli.
Customs 270 in 69 ovs (Abhishek Yadav 61; Wasif Ahmed 3/40), YMCA 37/0 in 18 ovs
Rajasthan 351/8 in 85 ovs (Mayukh Biswas 100; Rizanur Rahaman 4/83) vs Ballygunge United
Suburban 329 in 82.3 ovs (Praloy Dey 96; Ambikeshwar Mishra 6/83). George Telegraph 37/0 in 8 ovs
Sporting Union 490/6 in 85 ovs (Amitava Chakraborty 131) vs Paikpara SC
Bhukailash SC 158 in 48.1 ovs (Tamoghno Sen 50; Sudip Chandra 4/81). Monoharpukur MS 88/3 in 26.4 ovs
Shambazar Club 424/8 in 85 ovs (Alok Sharma 201 n.o.) vs Police AC.
Taltala ES 388 in 83.4 ovs (Dipankar Halder 163). ERSA 25/0 in 8 ovs
Young Bengal 286 in 74.2 ovs (Abhishek Mitra). Netaji Subhas Institute 35/0 in 8 ovs
Wari 290 in 82 ovs. Aikya Sammilani 1/0 in 3 ovs
Calcutta Port Trust 279 in 82.1 ovs (Ramesh Prasad 5/89). Tapan Memorial 18/2 in 6 ovs
All matches to continue

Tennis tourney

Aarja Chakraborty toppled seventh seed Priyana Kalita 6-2, 6-4 to reach the semi-finals in girls’ Under-16 singles of the AITA Super Series Tennis Tournament, at the Calcutta South Club, on Wednesday. However, in the under-14 section, Aarja was thrashed 3-6, 0-6 by top seed Mihika Yadav. In boys’ Under 14 quarter final, Nitin Kumar Sinha whipped Arghya Das 6-1, 6-1, while Sumit Pal Singh beat Kabir Manrai 6-7, 6-1, 6-2.

Golf meet

Harjyoti Bindra finished with 140 as the net leader in Division One on the second day of the Tolly Club Ladies Golf Championship. Rashika Chauhan finished with 163 as leader gross. In Division Two, Maje Ham turned out as the net leader with 140, with Chandra Das being the runner-up with 142.