The Telegraph
Saturday , January 12 , 2013
Since 1st March, 1999
CIMA Gallary

Bongaigaon & Dibrugarh win

U-13 cricket

Guwahati, Jan. 11: Dibrugarh and Bongaigaon today entered the quarter-finals of the Umananda Bora Trophy Inter-District (Under-13) Cricket Championship under way here.

While Dibrugarh tamed Bokakhat by 88 runs at Nehru Stadium here, Bongaigaon got the better of Jorhat by nine wickets at Barsapara Stadium.

At Nehru Stadium, Dibrugarh elected to bat and were all out for 139 in the stipulated 30 overs. In reply, Bokakhat were skittled out for 51 in 22.2 overs.

Sonal Sarma topscored for Dibrugarh with 23 while Gaurav Barua (14), Yuvraj Bharti (13) and Sarangaraj Kashyap (11) were the other notable scorers for the side.

Akash Rabidas of Bokakhat hauled four wickets for 22 runs and Harsha Sarma notched up three for 21.

For Bokakhat, none of the batsmen could score in double figures. Udit Sen Gupta (6) was the highest scorer for the side.

Gaurav Barua, Dibakar Saikia and A. Raja Warsee of Dibrugarh bagged three wickets each conceding six, eight and 10 runs respectively.

In the other match at Barsapara Stadium, Jorhat elected to bat and were bundled out for 79 in 20.1 overs. Bongaigaon reached 80 for one in 21 overs.

Imtiaz Hussain scored 20 for Jorhat while Saurav Deb of Bongaigaon hauled five for 19 and Sandip Paul notched up four for 28.

For Bongaigaon, Sandip Paul and Bishal Roy remained not out on 18 and 10 respectively. Jisu Bharadwaj scalped the only wicket, giving away 12 runs.

 More stories in Northeast

  • US experts to assess scheme
  • Sports body, Dispur caught in 'turf' war
  • Bongaigaon and Dibrugarh win
  • Navarang tame Noonmati
  • Poachers kill 2 more rhinos
  • Lakhimpur in final
  • Panel asks govt for wildlife impact study
  • Search for Buddhist relics
  • Poll and party burden on panel
  • Arunachal MP swipe irks big dam activists
  • ARC beat Imphal club,
  • Champion gets bail in two cases
  • Cong calls for poll deferment
  • AICC mulls changes in list