The Telegraph
Thursday , January 10 , 2013
Since 1st March, 1999
CIMA Gallary

Bongaigaon, Bokakhat win

Guwahati, Jan. 9: Bongaigaon and Bokakhat posted victories in their first round matches of the Umananda Bora Trophy inter-district (under-13) cricket tournament here today.

Bongaigaon inflicted a 73-run defeat on Morigaon in a group B match at Nehru Stadium, while Bokakhat trounced Udalguri by eight wickets in a group A match at Barsapara Cricket Stadium.

Bongaigaon opted to bat and put up 169 for five in a match reduced to 35 overs a side. The highlight of their innings was a 132-run partnership off 143 balls (for the fourth wicket) between Sandip Paul (35 not out) and Siba Prasad (39). For Udalguri, Inamul Hussain bagged two for 35.

In reply, Morigaon were bundled out for 96 in 21.4 overs. Aziz Hassan top-scored with 21 off 15 balls while Debasish Bora chipped in with 14 runs from 15 deliveries. For Bongaigaon, Shivam Thapa was the pick of the bowlers with five for 20 runs while Sandip Paul bagged two wickets. In the other match, Udalguri, put in to bat, were restricted to 108 in 28.2 overs. Samir Acharjya and Manash Chhetri top-scored with 17 runs each. For Bokakhat, Siddhartha Goswami bagged three for 15 while Gaurav Bora kept it tight at the other end with two for 20 from seven overs. In reply, Bokakhat cruised to their target in 25.5 overs, posting 109 for two. Akash Gautam top-scored with an unbeaten 30 while Ohit Ali made 17 runs. Udit Sengupta was not out on 14. Samir Acharjya was the lone wicket-taker for Udalguri.

 More stories in Northeast

  • Senior leader quits Nagaland Cong
  • The muse hidden in deodar trails
  • Tiddim beat United
  • Bongaigaon, Bokakhat win
  • Navajyoti drub Santipur
  • Absu links Bodoland to Telangana
  • Left Front announces candidate list
  • Tezpur festival begins after 5-year break
  • Manipur govt pledges probe
  • Tripura clears stand on rape
  • Tech team to help small tea growers
  • Recognition at last for war hero
  • Closure cloud on brick kilns
  • Lakhimpur triumph
  • Investments below par, says Ghatowar
  • Dispur ready with e-district