The Telegraph
Saturday , December 29 , 2012
Since 1st March, 1999
CIMA Gallary

Virat misses out by a run

This is the first T20 International to be played at the Motera. The last time a T20 match was played here was in March 2010 in IPL — then the home venue for Rajasthan Royals.

By playing his 58th T20I, Shahid Afridi now becomes the most capped player in T20Is, followed by Brendon McCullum 57, Shoaib Malik 52, Umar Gul 51 and Saeed Ajmal 50.

By being dismissed on 27, Virat Kohli just missed out on becoming the highest run-scorer in a calendar year in T20Is. Kohli now has 471 in 2012, joint with Dilshan who scored the same runs in 2009. The record thus stays with Martin Guptill who has 472 (2012).

Virat Kohli also ends up becoming the second highest run-scorer of 2012, just behind NZ’s Martin Guptil (472) and ahead of Brendon Mccullum (459) and Shane Watson (406).

When he hit his third six, Yuvraj Singh (54 sixes) brought up his 50th six in T20I. Only Mccullum 68, Shane Watson 62, and Chris Gayle 59 have hit more sixes.

Yuvraj Singh’s 72 is now his highest score in T20I. His previous highest was 70 vs Australia at Durban in September 2007.

The 4th wicket stand of 97 between Yuvraj Singh and Mahendra Singh Dhoni is now the highest fourth wicket stand in this format for India in T20Is. The pair also shared the previous highest of 61 vs England (Durban, Sept. 19, 2007). India still have the lone 100-partnership in T20I (136, Gambhir/Sehwag vs Eng, Sept. 19, 2007).

India’s total of 192/5 is the highest total by the home side vs Pakistan. Their previous highest was 157/5 at the Wanderers (Sept. 24, 2007).

India’s total of 192/5 is also the second highest score against Pakistan in T20Is. The highest remains 197/7 by Australia at Gros Islet (May 14, 2010).

When he hit his first four, Mohammed Hafeez (105 fours) became the first Pakistan player to hit 100-plus fours in T20I. He is the 9th player to do so.

The highest total Pakistan have successfully chased to win remains 178/2 (vs Ban at Pallekele Sept. 25, 2012).