The Telegraph
Monday , December 24 , 2012
Since 1st March, 1999
CIMA Gallary

Bagan beat Police

Mohun Bagan thumped Police AC by seven wickets in the quarter final of the JC Mukherjee Trophy, on Sunday. Batting first, Police were dismissed for a paltry 70 in 16.3 overs.

For Bagan, Pacer Shami Ahmed had figures of three for 10, while Abhishek Banerjee top-scored for Police with 29.

In reply, Bagan reached home with 52 balls to spare, losing only three wickets. Debabrata Das hit an unbeaten 34-ball 50.

Meanwhile, the game featuring Town Club and Kalighat Club could not get underway because of insufficient light. However, Town were declared winners by the spin of the coin.


Police AC 70 all out in 16.3 ovs (A. Banerjee 29). Mohun Bagan 71/3 in 11. 3 ovs. Mohun Bagan won by seven wkts

Sporting Union 176/7 in 20 ovs (U. Mukherjee 67). Bhowanipore 177/2 in 18.4 ovs. Bhowanipore won by eight wkts

East Bengal 241/3 in 20 ovs (W. Porel 106). Aryan 125/6 in 20 ovs. East Bengal won by 116 runs

Table tennis

Kushal Das and Priyakshi Roy became champions in both nursery and cadet sections of the table tennis meet, organised by the Dakshin Kolkata Sebashram. In the nursery boys’ final, on Sunday, Kushal beat Sandipan Das 11-2, 11-5, 11-7 before winning 11-9, 9-11, 11-7, 11-3 against Samboditya Bose in the cadet final.

In the girls’ category, Priyakshi rallied to beat Spriha Debnath 11-6, 7-11, 11-6, 7-11, 11-6 in the nursery final. In the cadet final, she won 10-12, 11-6, 11-9, 11-6 over Sudarshana Patra.

Tennis tourney

Chetan Patel and Shreyas Prajjwal have entered the main draw of the boys’ singles under-14 section of the Bengal Sub-Junior State Tennis Championship, along with Kshitij Goyal, Suyash Goenka, Zeeshan Ali, Roshan Paul and Aditya Podder.

In the qualifying round, on Sunday, Chetan beat Bapan Giri 7-6(7), while Shreyas won 7-0 over Abhinandan Surana. In the other matches, Kshitij made short work of Somak Sur with a 7-1 win, while Suyash too beat Kanav Goel by a similar margin.