The Telegraph
Saturday , December 22 , 2012
Since 1st March, 1999
CIMA Gallary

Sinha roars at lesser ally

Ramgarh, Dec. 21: The BJP's hunkar (roar) rally in Ramgarh today was a one-man show in which Hazaribagh MP Yashwant Sinha launched a veiled but scathing attack against Ajsu leader Chandra Prakash Choudhary for blaming him for lack of development in the neighbouring districts.

Sinha, who stole the limelight even though chief minister Arjun Munda shared the dais, told a 40,000-strong crowd that the BJP government would no longer compromise with regional parties in matters related to development.

Sinha, however, refused to reply to any allegations that had been hurled by Choudhary at a November 5 rally.

Main Pradhan Mantri ki baaton ka jawab de sakta hoon par in chutbhaiya partyon ke baare mein kuch nahi bolunga (I could reply to the Prime Minister, but won’t comment on anything these small parties have to say about me),” Sinha referred to Ajsu, drawing a huge round of applause.

On Choudhary’s announcement of contesting the next elections against him, Sinha said the labour minister should not dream of making it to Parliament when he was not sure of a win in the district.

Aap ko hum Ramgarh mai bhi nahi rehne denge (I won’t let you win even in Ramgarh),” Sinha said.

He also blamed the Ajsu of involvement in making money through illegal coal business in cahoots with the mafia.

“They think they can use muscle and money power to win elections. But had that been the case, the Tatas and the Birlas would have won all the elections,” Sinha added.

Taking a dig at Choudhury, Sinha appealed to the people to elect a local leader like him who could voice their grievances and not for a “silent man”.

Jahan bolne ki jarurat hoti hai, who patli gali pakad k nikal lete hai,” he said.

Munda, on the other hand, chose to play safe and said the government had failed to function properly due to a lack of majority. “You give us a majority and we will work according to your expectations,” he said in his short speech.

Apart from Munda nd Sinha, the others who graced the occasion included Dhanbad MP P.N. Singh, Giridih MP Ravindra Rai, legislators Amit Yadav and Uma Shankar Akela, party chief Dineshanand Goswami and Vimla Pradhan.