The Telegraph
Thursday , December 20 , 2012
Since 1st March, 1999
CIMA Gallary

Back to winning ways

Reisangmi Vashum, after netting the team’s fourth and final goal,
on Wednesday. A Telegraph picture

Calcutta: Kingfisher East Bengal are back on track with a bang.

After a scratchy show against Techno Aryan and Prayag United Sports Club, the red-and-gold brigade walloped a hapless Railway FC 4-0 in a Calcutta Football League tie, at the club ground, on Wednesday.

Agreed, Railway have been thrashed around in the tournament and are fighting relegation. That said, the result will boost the spirit in the East Bengal camp, considering how they had performed in their previous two appearances.

Captain Sanju Pradhan, returning to action after being ruled out with an injury for almost a month, converted from a spot-kick to give East Bengal the lead.

Referee Minangshu Bhattacharya awarded East Bengal a penalty in the 30 th minute when Railway defender S. Alam Gazi brought Saikat Saha Roy down inside the box.

Sanju’s shot initially was blocked by Railway goalkeeper Rana Chakraborty. But the EB captain ensured he found the target in his second attempt. Seiminlen Doungel doubled the lead towards the end of the first session, nodding home a lob from Manandeep Singh after Saikat squared from the right flank.

With the Railway defence being in disarray as the game progressed, Manandeep got East Bengal their third goal 21 minutes into the second half.

Reisangmi Vashum provided the finishing touches 10 minutes before regulation time, as rival defenders tried to trap him offside.


East Bengal: Abhijit Mondal, Robert Lalthalmuana, Raju Gaikwad, Gurwinder Singh, Saikat Saha Roy, Sushanth Mathew, Sanju Pradhan (Alvito D’Cunha, 72 nd minute), Reisangmi Vashum, Seiminlen Doungel, Manandeep Singh (Baljit Sahni, 69 th minute), Robin Singh (Cavin Lobo, 78 th minute).

Railway FC: Rana Chakraborty, Milon Neogi, Biplab Naskar, Sandip Karmakar (Dipankar Bag, 54 th minute), Sukumar Roy (Kaltu Hembram, 59 th minute), Aloke Baskey, S. Alam Gazi, Ranjit Show, Sheikh Sabir Ali, Tapan Giri, Rabi Bose.