The Telegraph
Wednesday , December 19 , 2012
Since 1st March, 1999
CIMA Gallary

Game on as laurels pour in

Events in various disciplines kept sportspersons from the state busy. Shriyanka Sadangi’s international silver in shooting, Arun Santa’s national record in weightlifting and Ignace Tirkey’s bidding at the Hockey India League were highlights of this week.

Veteran’s time

At the first-ever bidding for the Hockey India League in Delhi, Punjab Warriors bought veteran defender from Odisha, Ignace Tirkey, for Rs 16.87 lakh (USD 31,000). The league will be played in January next year. The five franchises for the league are Delhi Waveriders, Mumbai Magicians, Punjab Warriors, Ranchi Rhinos and Uttar Pradesh Wizards. Each team consists of 14 Indian and 10 overseas players.

Perfect aim

Kalahandi boy Arabinda Sahu and Pratyeshu Sahu of Talcher emerged man and woman champions in the 0.22 bore 50m rifle event of the 3rd State Shooting Championship. Organised from December 14 to 16 by the Odisha Rifle Association, the event was simultaneously hosted at Police Shooting Range, Bayree (Jajpur) and Utkal Karate School here. Giving another reason to celebrate for Odsha shooters, 17-year-old Shriyanka Sadangi, won a silver in the 10m air rifle women team event in the 5th Asian Air Gun Shooting Championship 2012 held at Nanchang, China from December 12 to 18. This is her first international medal in the senior category in the 10m air rifle women event. The Indian team for the 10m air rifle senior women consisted of Olympian Anjali Bhagwat, Mampi Das and Shriyanka Sadangi. China won the gold medal.

Dodge and pass

Bhubaneswar’s top team Yazadani Club-73 lifted the trophy in the 8th Srikrushna Biswal Memorial All-Odisha Football Tournament, thrashing Mangala Club (Cuttack) 3-1 in the final played at Indira Maidan, Nayapalli in Bhubaneswar. Kishore Khadia scored a goal in the fifth and 33rd minutes to win the man of the final match. Antu Mumru also scored a goal for Yazdani in the 30th minute. The only goal for Mangala Club came from Bijay Das in the 59th minute of the match. Yazdani received the prize of Rs 15,000 while Mangala Club were awarded Rs 10,000. State sports minister Ramesh Chandra Majhi presented the trophy at the closing function. Host Sports & Games Organisation president Kashinath Jena and secretary Bhagyadhar Jagadeb were present on the occasion. Kedarnath Singh of Yazdani won man of the tournament.

Also, a women’s exhibition football match was played between East Coast Railway and Odisha–XI at DRIEMS playground (Tangi, Cuttack) in which East Coast Railway won 2-0. Present at the match were DRIEMS chairman Pramod Rath, FIFA consultant Monika Staabb, FIFA development officer Shaji Prabhakaran, AIFF’s senior vice-president Subrat Dutta, national teams director Subhankar Mukherjee, AIFF assistant manager Indu Choudhury, Sudeshana Mukherjee (IFA), FAO joint secretaries Abhjit Paul and Sangita Sharma, national coach for senior indian women-football team Md S. Jabbar and DRIEMS sports director Naba K. Mishra.

Sticky wicket

Bhubaneswar hosted the Ranji match between Rajasthan and Railways at Railway Stadium. Railways won the toss and put up a mammoth 405. Rajasthan managed only 135 in its first innings and followed on.

In the Odisha vs Assam U-16 match of the Vijay Merchant trophy played in Rourkela, the visitors put up 169 in their first innings. Odisha managed 122 while Assam scored 102 in its second innings, resulting in a draw. Odisha gained one point and Assam bagged three. At present, the state U-16 team is playing Bengal and batting first they scored 134 in the first innings.

Move matters

At the 11th Sundergarh Open Chess Tournament organised by district chess association, Sundergarh and All Odisha Chess Association, at Jaydurga Club in Rangadipha, Sundergarh from December 15 to 18, the standings after the seventh round were: Rabindra Kumar Ojha, Cuttack drew with Dasarathi Sahoo, Khordha on board one; Bhaskar Sri Viswaroopananda, Puri beats Narayan Das, Kendrapara; Bidhu Bhusan Mishra, Sambalpur drew with Ashirwad Swain, Cuttack; K.L. Bhoi, Sambalpur beats Biswaranjan Behera, Angul; Madhusudan Sahu, Balangir beats Rishav Das Mohapatra, Sundargarh; Pravat Kumar Ojha, Jajpur beats Sanjay Kumar Mittal, Sambalpur. So far, Dasarathi Sahoo was leading with 6.5 points followed by Rabindra Kumar Ojha and Bhaskar Sri Viswaroopanand with six points each.