The Telegraph
Friday , December 14 , 2012
Since 1st March, 1999
CIMA Gallary

Laxmi to lead;VVS ruled out

Calcutta: Laxmi Ratan Shukla on Thursday was named as the Bengal captain for the remaining two Ranji Trophy matches against Hyderabad and Railways. The match against begins at the Eden from Saturday.

Shukla was appointed after regular skipper Manoj Tiwary was ruled out because of a back injury and vice-captain Wriddhiman Saha refused to take up the role.

Speaking after Bengal’s practice session on Thursday, Saha said that he doesn’t enjoy captaincy. “I don’t want to captain the side… Actually, I don’t enjoy captaincy. I want to concentrate on my performance,” Saha said.

However, a replacement for Manoj was not being named, as the squad remained unchanged. “Initially, we were supposed to replace Manoj with Naved Akhtar. But then we decided against it because the newcomer will not get a chance in the first XI,” said a selector.

Meanwhile, selector Alok Bhattacharya claimed he was kept in the dark about the selection committee meeting. “I have no idea about the composition of the squad. It is from other sources that I came to know about the squad,” Bhattacharya told reporters at the CAB.

But Deep Dasgupta, chairman of the selectors, denied. “There must be a communication gap. We have informed everyone about the composition of the squad,” Deep said.

Hyderabad manager Shesh Narayan informed that VVS Laxman has pulled out of the match as he is yet to recover from a back injury

The BENGAL Squad

Laxmi Ratan Shukla (captain), Rohan Banerjee, Arindam Das, Sudip Chatterjee, Gitimoy Bose, Debabrata Das, Abhishek Jhunjhunwala, Sandipan Das, Wriddhiman Saha, Shami Ahmed, Sourav Sarkar, Veer Pratap Singh, Iresh Saxena, Aritra Chatterjee.